Aug 7, 2019
Worcester (UK)
Funster No
MH
Autograph 794-T
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi All,
Firstly and most importantly, I hope you're all keeping well and safe.
I have Alde 3020 system in my 2017 Bailey Autograph and have noticed that when I switch the heating on, the tap water also gets hot without the hot water side of the system being activated.
I contacted Alde and they told me that when the boiler is switched on to activate the central heating, (even without hot water being requested), due to heat transfer in the boiler the water would naturally get warm which I can understand and accept.
However, my water gets REALLY HOT and feels the same temperature as if I'd actually requested hot water on. Surely this cannot be purely due to heat transfer?
Does your water get HOT when you only have the heating on?
Any thoughts / ideas?

Last edited:
Nov 5, 2013
Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Carthago chic e-line
Exp
Since 2013
Apologies mis-information

Last edited:
Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
If you search there are a few pictures of the boiler so you can see how it works. There is no option for hot water as such. The boiler has an inner sausage that is heated and which contains the water / antifreeze mix that is circulated around the radiators. Wrapped around the sausage is a jacket containing the water that appears at the hot taps. If the heating is on, the sausage is heated and that heats the jacket around it. The hot water boost simply prevents the central heating pump from operating so that more heat is available to heat hot water. In Summer the wall thermostat stops the pump so all available heat is used for hot water which is why it gets hotter - a bit like being on permanent boost.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999