Advice on air con and generators please! (1 Viewer)

TheEscapist

Free Member
Mar 5, 2019
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I’m a newbie
Hello Everyone

I’m looking forward to contributing to the forum and most of all, learning a lot...

I’ve just bought my second motorhome, a Carthago Liner for Two 53.

Previous one was a Bilbo Camper 30 years ago so I’m really a newbie...!

The Carthago comes with most things but my concern is about self-sufficiency. I want to te off the beaten track. I know the Liner for Two is hardly an all terrain survival vehicle but what I’m looking for is a comfortable life but with independence.

To this end, I’m wondering about air-conditioning and generators.

I think the water (200l) and grey water (185l) are enough.

I’ve specified a third leisure battery and ordered solar panels.

The engine is a 2.3l Fiat Ducato uprated to 180hp and the chassis uprated to 4,800kgs. The diesel tank is 90 litres so at around 30mpg I’m banking on a range of around 600 miles.

So I figure I’m all sorted except I wonder about the whole relationship between the engine charging the three leisure batteries, the solar panels charging the batteries in the daytime (apparently they are the type that work in all weather not just sun), using appliances at night, and then when I’m in hotter climes, using air con and the need for a generator.

I think I would be fine without a generator with sensible evening use with electricity from the 3 batteries but when I use air con the batteries won’t support it.

So my choices seem to be plug in at a site or use a generator. For when I’m not on a site, what size generator would run the aircon for a night and would it not be too noisy (I’m guessing not in the scooter garage).

Also, how should all the abov be word together?

The dealer says they have never fitted a generator so I’m wondering if I’m overdoing things or whether this is a sensible option.

Yanks in advance for helpful advice from you all.

Best wishes

Paul

Attachments