12V TV

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by The Wino, Feb 8, 2015.

  1. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +3,936
    Never had a tv in the MH but thinking of getting one. I know there are some 12v tv's but some 240v ones run off a 12v transformer......do they work on the 12v in the MH or is the voltage not stable enough (avtex seem to say theres are specially made to cope).

    What have others bought that works don't want to spend a lot cause we might not use it and i'm tight!

    David
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  2. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,077
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    Ratings:
    +5,283
    i use a polaroid tv bought from asda ,think they are about 89quid . i bought a pink one on offer for 49 quid . not keen on colour but it works . i made a 12v lead up instead of the transformer .
    i use this as the ariel http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/231257076509?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT
    works great in uk or abroad. you can play with language settings and get several english speaking programs when abroad.
    with digi tv,s you can go back to english if the program was ever put out in english .
    that ariel is a favoured truckers choice . very robust and omni directional.
    you really dont have to spend alot to get 12v tv
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    notloB
    Ratings:
    +45,530
    A lot of 19/20 inch tv's are 230volt transformed down to 12 volt now. What I did was go into the drawer that everyone has in there homes and bring out a lead that doesn't fit anything that you own anymore and cut it down to length, stick a 12v plug on it and away you go. No need for EHU to run a 12v telly.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +3,936
    The problem is when looking online it often doen't say if it has a transformer or runs straight off the mains
     
  5. hchris

    hchris Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    Maldon Essex
    Ratings:
    +175
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    notloB
    Ratings:
    +45,530
    Yes that's true.
     
  7. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    notloB
    Ratings:
    +45,530
  8. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,157
    Location:
    Lincs
    Ratings:
    +3,267
    Blimey - I remember them from the 70s & 80s when CB radio was all the rage - Knights that is - not the aerial. They were the go-to suppliers in this area. Still are, going by a quick look at their ebay shop. I'd forgotten all about them. I've moved 20 miles further away from them now, but in these internet days you tend not to think so much about where people are based. Kirton Lindsey always seemed an unlikely place for such a specialised product line. Pleased to see they are still going strong - it will be a new generation now.
     
  9. Ranger

    Ranger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +325
    Knights still the same family, used to be father and son, now just son and some helpers. We have a 19in Cello TV with superb picture and pretty poor sound so use a mini boom bar.
     
  10. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,565
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +14,082
    virtually all smaller TVs come with a brick to drop the voltage to 12v. in practice you tend to be able to just plug them straight into the sockets in a van/caravan/boat. however any spike caused by charging the battery could in theory damage the TV. if you're worried about it, you can buy a ready made voltage stabiliser lead that takes 10v to 18v in and produces a smooth 12v output. they can be bought on ebay for under £20 and work on virtually every 12v TV
    not endorsing this particular stabiliser, just to illustrate what is available
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/170903253018?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649
     
  11. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,011
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +5,330
    I've been using one that looks identical to that for the past five years.
     
  12. magicsurfbus

    magicsurfbus Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,323
    Location:
    NW England
    Ratings:
    +12,924
    We have a Foehn & Hirsch 12v TV/DVD combi that works directly off the leisure battery circuit, no problem. It has a power pack between the 12v plug and the telly so I assume that provides a bit of stability in the current.
     
Loading...

Share This Page