Free Member
Jul 29, 2020
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Swift Suntor 590 RS
Exp
Newbies
Apologies for what might be a long thread!! We're talking about a 2002 Swift Suntor, on a Ducato 2.8JTD (if that's relevant). No obvious mods/alterations that I can tell.

I have an issue which has gone from being on the longer term 'want' list, to the 'Better get that sorted ASAP' list! Basically, the on board 12v battery charger/transformer has gone pop, so the batteries aren't charging whilst on EHU. I took it out, found a small 2.5A fuse inside had blown, replaced it and hooked it back in the MH. Switched on, and BANG. Fuse went again. :oops: Replaced fuse and this time, I only connected it the 240v input side. I left the 12v output connectors off, in case there was something shorting it, but when I flicked the switch again - BANG, so I'm assuming the actual charger has some kind of fault.

We bought the MH July 2020, and it's our first one, so safe to say I'm still a newbie! I've read a bunch of threads on here about lithium batteries, solar panels, inverters etc etc) thanks especially Googlebot for the recent Lithium instal thread 👍. I have a Mulitimeter, and I understand my way around my domestic 240v installation, but 12v is a whole new world for me!

Ultimately, I would like to instal solar, perhaps an inverter, and even upgrade to Lithium, but that will have to happen over time as funds allow. (I'm conscious that it's a 19 year old van though, so not sure on the merits of spending £££s on it, but I'd anticipate we might have it for 3 - 5 years before we can upgrade).

My question initially is "What would you do?" in terms of replacing the on board battery charger. I'd prefer not to buy something now, only to replace it 6 months down the line because I've added solar or swapped the Lead/acid for Lithium etc. This one doesn't seem to have a Lithium charging profile for example, so a like for like replacement seems pointless.

This is the charger in question...