12 volt telly lead

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by wasp, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. wasp

    wasp Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Warsop
    Ratings:
    +2,110
    I`ve just bought a 15" telly and dvd combo for the MH but cannot find a 12 volt lead for it, the bloke in Comet couldn`t help and Maplins didn`t have one. Does anybody know where I can get one, Thanks ,:thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb:Rob
     
  2. lunarman

    lunarman Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,640
    Location:
    South Glos
    Ratings:
    +1,205
    what make & model is it?
     
  3. M&L

    M&L

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Maybe a silly question but is it a 12volt tv, if it is it will have a transformer with it so you could use a small inverter.
     
  4. wasp

    wasp Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Warsop
    Ratings:
    +2,110
    The Telly is a Kenmark probably a Comet special, I never thought about using the invertor
     
  5. stagman

    stagman Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    I have got a Kenmark ,excellent choice . I cut off the lead close to the secondary side of the transformer and soldered on a cigar plug--remember the polarity must be right .:thumb:
     
  6. lunarman

    lunarman Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,640
    Location:
    South Glos
    Ratings:
    +1,205
  7. wasp

    wasp Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Warsop
    Ratings:
    +2,110
    I thought about cutting the lead cos I`ve got a 12 volt socket in the MH, but then if I want to use it on 240 volt I aint got a lead:thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  8. M&L

    M&L

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I cut off the lead and fitted a 12v plug on a new TV 6 months ago, unfortunately the TV became faulty and I had to send it back, the supplier PowerLeisure were a bit unhappy that I had taped the wires back together.
    They did send a new one but that went wrong after 20 minutes, I sent that one back two weeks ago and have not heard from them yet.
    So if you do mess about with a new one you may have a problem with the warranty if it does go faulty.

    Mike
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    30,319
    Location:
    Ayrshire
    Ratings:
    +31,364
  10. stagman

    stagman Deleted User

    Ratings:
    +0
    Before you go buying any 12v leads make sure they can carry the load .The ones I have seen on here I don't think they would be up to it:thumb:
     
  11. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,875
    Location:
    France,
    Ratings:
    +1,589
    Are these any good, depending on what the tv is rated at, ebay

    350248291100

    150398705731

    380145624761

    120488392839

    Mel
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice