10 days in...Praise for French Passion sites (1 Viewer)

arto stu

Free Member
Aug 29, 2017
Farnborough
Funster No
MH
Niesmann Bischoff Arto 69
Exp
Im a newbie
Sue and I are on our first journey abroad in the van... So far we have done 10 days ( we are away for 6 weeks :) )... so far so good... so what have we learned so far....

1/ We we started with great plans of going to France, Italy, Austria and Germany... now after 10 days we are only at Bordeaux... sod it.... 1 1/2 hrs drive a day is fine... France is more than fine... relaxxxxxx :)

2/ Electric Bikes are great... how did we manage without them!!

3/ 1Kw solar panel and 200ah house batteries will not charge up 2 flat bike batteries unless we are travelling.... :).... never mind we have a nice genny ( wait for the hate mail :) ... its ticking over as I write this, and contrary to popular discussion.. no complaints or nasty looks from anyone (mainly because we are in the middle of the country on a vineyard with no one around).

4/ French passion sites are great!!... so far we have done a mix of Aire and Passion... both are great.. but for us the Passion sites are a bit nicer.... 10 days and we have spend 6 Euros on one aire... costs for Passion are a bit harder to work out... all basically free... but so far we have brought wine, pate... we are currently on a farm a short ride from the canal Garonne Lateral... we asked to stay for a couple of nights... no problem... we are the only van on site

All in all so far as every one on here says... it seems that France is built for Camping Cars and the locals are more than warm in welcoming us to their country.

Stu

Feb 16, 2013
uttoxeter
Funster No
MH
ambulance conversion
Exp
50 years