Three "at Home"

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Munchie, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    We are now back im France near Le Crotoy.
    As my 3 mi fi had 700mb left from our English trip i decided to try it.
    Had to log into Orange with username and password both "admin" and connected to internet and working well!
    Good old 3!!!
     
    • Like Like x 5
  2. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    3,382
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    How did you log into Orange? My 3 sim seems to only connect to Bytel or 20815, which I am on at the moment. I do not seem to have an option to choose a service provider it connects automatically.
     
  3. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    on my Android Nexus7 it asked me to log in when i did it went to Orange login page, input admin admin then it warned me that roaming is expensive i clicked ok and that was it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    3,382
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    I am using a Huawei unlocked mifi so things may be different but I have found in the past that other networks seem to have problems with Orange. Europasim will not connect to Orange.
     
  5. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    had problems before with unlocked mi fi so now have my French SFR contract one, a Vodaphone one and now a 3 one!
    not cheap but I have a choice wherever i am and they just "work"!!!
     
  6. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    How do you log in to orange when it's a 3 sim card? I thought they were different companies? I'm interested as I have 3 and an orange sim, I expect to use my 3 'at home' from Sunday as I'm going to France and I'm interested how I'll use it.
     
  7. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    When i clicked connect to my 3 mi fi the orange page just came up!
     
  8. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    err no! i clicked connect on my 3 mi fi then my nexus asked me to log in. when i clicked to do that THEN the Orange login page came up.

    I assume it is a 3 partner for "at home"
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Very pleased with our three phone contracts..worked seamlessly in France and Spain recently...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Suffolk
    I am thinking of going with Three mobile as the feel at home thing seems very attractive. Only problem is they don't allow tethering outside the UK but I was wondering if anyone has tried it, how would they know anyway that you re using your iPhone for tethering to a laptop. Any comments?
     
  11. mikekaren2

    mikekaren2 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Somerset
    If you have a 3 contract with all you can eat data you can use 4Mb per month from your allowance when abroad (that's what my contract says)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Do you mean gigabytes, 4 mb would just about open this page. But can you tether?
     
  13. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,563
    Likes Received:
    11,535
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I bought 3 payg sim card for a phone then tried it in my mifi and it worked for a couple of days then it would only show a wrist slapping message from 3 telling me to put the sim back in my phone! So the answer is - they know what you are doing with it.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  14. jumar

    jumar Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    Location:
    Spain/Notts
    Select Mobile Hotspot on your phone and connect via that. Three works fine, dont know how many times this question has been asked, but it appears every couple of weeks or so.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. mikekaren2

    mikekaren2 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Somerset
    Sorry yes 4Gb and you can tether.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,095
    Likes Received:
    4,767
    I have a 3 sim card in my tablet phone and tether it to my Macbook for blog updates when abroad. Probably only use 20 to 30 mb for uploading each day but never had a problem yet.

    Also I found 3 really slow in Italy this year.....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Suffolk
    I know questions have been asked previously about Three but I don't recall anything about tethering outside the UK, which as I understand things Three say you cannot do. Are you saying you have tethered outside the uk from a smartphone and it worked fine? "Chocsaway" says it does, what was your experience ?
     
  18. spitfire

    spitfire Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    857
    Location:
    Correze France
    Ken for France if you have Orange internet at home then there are loads of Orange hotspots which you can log in to Using you home e mail as the address they ask for and your home orange password.
     
  19. spitfire

    spitfire Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    857
    Location:
    Correze France
    I bought a Three pay as you go data sim las time I was in the UK and it worked fine on our journey home in France
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London

    Oh dear.......
     
Loading...

Share This Page