Payload

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Mickrik, Oct 5, 2016.

  1. Mickrik

    Mickrik Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffordshire
    Hi there,

    As I am slowly getting the hang of my Auto-trail Apache 634, I thought I would do the sensible thing and put her on a weighbridge.

    The loading was with 2 full gas bottles 1/2 tank of diesel for 200+ miles, no water as it's free, I will use a 10L water can for travelling. All cooking and crockery implements, all bedding and us the two owners sitting in it. So the only thing missing is our spare clothing and personal possession which I expect will be about 40kg.

    The V5 states 3500kg max capacity
    Weighbridge came in at 3370kg

    So I have a spare payload of 130kg with the van in running condition.

    I recon if I fit a bike rack on, it may tip her over the weight limit and I won't be able to bring any nice trinkets back from our travels.

    How many owners check the running condition weight of their vehicles?.

    It was a great run out as I picked a weighbridge 20 miles away so I could give the engine a run. Though the satnav (CoPilot Caravan) sent me down a country lane where I was touching hedges both sides and grass growing up the middle.

    Mick
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,947
    Likes Received:
    7,697
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Check mine fully loaded at least once a year.
    Sounds like you've not got CoPilot set to motorhome.
     
  3. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,156
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Every sensible one.

    You also need two weighings because it is possible to be under max weight yet have one axle ( the back one usually ) over it's weight.

    The V5 weight does not count, the one that does is the the plate with 3 or 4 weights put on by the converter - not the FIAT one in the engine bay.
     
  4. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    15,270
    Location:
    notloB
    We're looking to change our much loved Wentworth as we must be at or above our max weight even though it's been uprated. Scared the hell out of me when I rolled it ove the local w/b so went straight home and re-gigged what we were carrying.
     
  5. Bill_OR

    Bill_OR Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    572
    Location:
    Nr Hastings, East Sussex
    @Mickrik - I have the same MH (2012 model) and mine was plated at 3650. My payload was so low that I had to uprate it to 3850 to make sure that if I was stopped on the way back from France that I didn't have to throw the wine away!
    Hence I'm amazed at your results - mind you our dog is a weighty beast and I'm saying nothing about the wife ;-)
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 2
  6. Muddibootz

    Muddibootz Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    North Shropshire
    I have to admit that I don't and I know lots of other motorhomers that don't either.
     
  7. Mickrik

    Mickrik Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffordshire
    Hi Hilldweller

    thanks for the info

    "the plate with 3 or 4 weights"

    any idea where it is usually placed so I can go check it on Monday

    Mick
     
  8. EX51SSS

    EX51SSS Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2,831
    Location:
    North Manchester
    What did you mean as no water as it's free?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Always weigh ours before each long trip as we need to take more with us however we recently changed from Autotrail Tracker FB which we had to uprate to 3850kg to an Exsis i with 4250kg so we are well within limits.
    You'll usually find plates under bonnet or on door pillar.one will be Fiat and other converters Autotrail should look like this. image.jpeg gvw ,gross train,front ,rear axles
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2016
  10. Mickrik

    Mickrik Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffordshire
    Hi There


    I'm running with an empty water tank and use a tap when I get there. Not anticipating doing any wild stuff yet.

    Mick
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. EX51SSS

    EX51SSS Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2,831
    Location:
    North Manchester
    Ah right ok. So don't use the toilet or shower or no need to wash the cups etc. There's a novel idea.
    From my point, I weighed with a full tank then when I'm bringing my goodies from overseas, I've got that extra as I dump it before buying my supplies. Although I've got a good payload, it gives me that extra availability.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  12. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,493
    Likes Received:
    4,754
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Thats OK but if you do start taking water with you, you could loose 100kg of that available payload straight away.

    Martin
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    Salisbury
    IMHO you need to weigh again get whole van and then rear axle take one from other to give front axle then you can asses whether you need an uprate or just move your kit around to get even weight distribution over axles.
    My guess is you'll probably need an uprate.130kg spare will soon be used up.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. EX51SSS

    EX51SSS Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2,831
    Location:
    North Manchester
    Not if you go to the weighbridge with it already on board.
     
  15. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,493
    Likes Received:
    4,754
    Location:
    Guisborough
    The OP has already said half a tank of diesel and no water.

    Martin
     
  16. EX51SSS

    EX51SSS Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2,831
    Location:
    North Manchester
    Obviously depending on how much you take on board. Mine is 90k, however I know some that are as little as 60k but depends on how much one puts in. Doesn't need to fill to brim although I travel where I'm going fully tanked and I don't have to search for water when I get where I'm going. It could be that water is not available at the time you need it. Water companies are not without their problems or a hole in the road, or other utilities problems that need the supply interrupted.
    Probably unlikely but sometimes nature calls and no water? Hmmmmm?
     
  17. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    8,057
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Fill it up with water & diesel & it's overloaded . What is the point of running with a half empty diesel tank, let alone no water?
    What about food? That soon mounts up.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. EX51SSS

    EX51SSS Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2,831
    Location:
    North Manchester
    Yes I can and did read what was said. I merely said that it's a novel idea to have absolutely no water in tank. Plus, is the OP never going to put more than 1/2 tank of diesel either? Sorry but I live in the real world. I start will full tank of diesel as it saves me paying motorway prices every 100 miles.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,156
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ours is outside right by the driver's door - that's the off side being RHD.

    I made your mistake, I got it into my head it was 3500kg but the makers plate actually said something like 3250kg. We ran over weight for years. Eventually I got the weight upgraded but still under 3500kg.

    It's a bit of a nightmare but the law does not care about that, to them "you are over weight, here is your fine, don't move until you reduce the weight".
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. EX51SSS

    EX51SSS Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2,831
    Location:
    North Manchester
    Absolutely 100% agreement. You never know what happens only a few miles away from home let alone 100's.
     
Loading...

Share This Page