Jul 3, 2016
Cannock, Staffordshire
Funster No
MH
Auto-Trail Apache 634
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi there,

As I am slowly getting the hang of my Auto-trail Apache 634, I thought I would do the sensible thing and put her on a weighbridge.

The loading was with 2 full gas bottles 1/2 tank of diesel for 200+ miles, no water as it's free, I will use a 10L water can for travelling. All cooking and crockery implements, all bedding and us the two owners sitting in it. So the only thing missing is our spare clothing and personal possession which I expect will be about 40kg.

The V5 states 3500kg max capacity
Weighbridge came in at 3370kg

So I have a spare payload of 130kg with the van in running condition.

I recon if I fit a bike rack on, it may tip her over the weight limit and I won't be able to bring any nice trinkets back from our travels.

How many owners check the running condition weight of their vehicles?.

It was a great run out as I picked a weighbridge 20 miles away so I could give the engine a run. Though the satnav (CoPilot Caravan) sent me down a country lane where I was touching hedges both sides and grass growing up the middle.

Mick

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
How many owners check the running condition weight of their vehicles?
Mick

Every sensible one.

You also need two weighings because it is possible to be under max weight yet have one axle ( the back one usually ) over it's weight.

The V5 weight does not count, the one that does is the the plate with 3 or 4 weights put on by the converter - not the FIAT one in the engine bay.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Badknee

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 25, 2014
notloB
Funster No
MH
Vantage Neo
Exp
Living the dream.