Oh Dear... another MUST HAVE gadget...

Discussion in 'Computers' started by JJ, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    25,642
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Just as I am trying to wean myself off my gadget dependency I find the existence of another "must have" device...

    Called "MiFi" it would allow me to take my data sim card out of my Sony Vaio laptop (or your internet dongle), put it in the new thingy and "Bob´s Your Uncle" you have a private wi-fi network around you for up to five connections.

    So, apart from personal use in the Wagon where I could have five different wi-fi devices working through the one 3G connection, I could also offer wi-fi to Motorhome Fun visitors to Quinta Majay... (How much do the CCC charge?)

    Anyone have first hand experience of the Novatel Mifi thingy? (I have checked the web reviews but who is writing them I ask.)

    JJ
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Save money, set up a virtual network with the Sony ..

    that's what I did in the RV to share the same connection with Jan
     
  3. 656

    656 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    291
    Location:
    The universe
    I have been thinking about one of these for the iPad. It would come in handy when in the van. However, the cost of use when abroad would be horrendous!
     
  4. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Bryan Admin has/had one I believe.

    What phone you got again JJ and do ya recommend it?
     
  5. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    25,642
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    How much do you charge for teaching idiots how to set up VPNs?

    Ok for me in Portugal as I have a contract (unlimited at 5mbs where possible) with Vodafone Portugal.. :thumb:

    JJ
     
  6. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    25,642
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    I have a Nokia E72 smartphone (connected in the UK to T-Mobile) and I recommend both of them John. Unlimited data, 200 minutes talking and unlimited texts for 19 pounds a month or maybe 29 pounds, can´t remember, sorry)

    JJ
     
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  8. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342
    The trouble with an ad-hoc network connection is that both laptops need to be on for the second to see the internet.

    I do have a mi-fi dongle and it's great (in the uk)

    Very easy to use.
     
  9. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    I have the 3 equivalent. It has to be the best £49.99 I have spent in a long time. Its kept the wife quite. :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1: No longer is she huffing and puffing that she cant use her laptop to get on to Facebook while I am doing the very important job of checking the forum posts. :thumb::thumb:

    Being serious I have found it to be much more convenient than the dongle, you can place it where you get the best signal. Could be half way up a tree in Quinta JJ. I am sure that it gets a stronger signal than the dongle because the speed I have been getting has been noticably faster. Maybe it has a better ariel.

    At present it is locked to 3 whereas the dongle was unlocked and I could use any sim. If I need to go on Vodafone then it will be back to the dongle.

    Overall I am very happy with it.

    Lunarman
     
  10. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    25,642
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Thanks Bryan... I would want to allow "guests" to use the connection without my laptop being on so it looks like I can justify the purchase of a new gismo after all... Jim had me worried there for a moment...

    I have several friends touring in their vans and they won´t join me at any locations if there is no internet connection... with a Mifi I could say "Use mine..."

    See how far I go to try to get people to be my friends!

    JJ :thumb:
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    yes, of course,

    but is that not the idea .. two or more on at the same time .. ?

    Does your MIFI dongle work with your lappy shudown ???
     
  12. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    25,642
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    I think is does Jim... it is a stand alone, battery powered router...

    JJ
     
  13. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    The MiFi is a standalone device that is not tethered to any other device. As long as it is switched on and can get a signal it becomes a Wifi Access point
     
  14. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    ofcourse,

    but I thought Bryan had a usb mifi dongle .. my mistake
     
  15. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    25,642
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    It is the word "dongle" that can cause misunderstandings! I do not need a "dongle" as my laptop has a sim card slot for mobile 3G internet.

    People ask where my "dongle" is and I get embarrassed...:Blush:

    I guess the Mifi "thingy" should be called a mobile, battery powered 3G router...

    an MBP3GR for short... :Rofl1:

    JJ
     
  16. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I'm pretty sure Dame Penelope has one.

    Not offering free WiFi must be the trick though when it's on mobile.
     
  17. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    25,642
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    ... well as my mobile data package is "unlimited" and on a fixed price, I thought I might charge Funsters a fee, say one Fray Bentos Steak and Ale pie for two hours internet and save on my food bills...:Rofl1:

    JJ
     
  18. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342

    I have a '3' mifi device. They can be unlocked so that any sim will work in them. Unlocking also gives you extra control over the device that is locked away if you don't unlock it.


    JJ, be careful with the 'unlimited' data package moniker.

    They almost always have a 'fair usage policy' and unlimited can in reality mean 3gb per month.

    hth
    Bryan
     
  19. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    So you are going to eat their words !


    Sorry, I'll get me hat.
     
  20. gozomike

    gozomike Funster Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
    Hi
    I have been using a Huawei mifi on the 3 network when in the UK and as has been said it works well. I have also used it suspended on the top of my flag pole when the signal coming in has been weak, it does help. Mine is locked to the 3 network, you would need to get an unlocked one (or have one unlocked) to use it on another network. I see the unlocked ones are £91 from Amazon. For others to use it you would just have to give them the access code provided.
    Sorry no experience of the Novatel one but it looks more expensive.
     
Loading...

Share This Page