Water purification - do you bother? (1 Viewer)

Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
I can feel a couple of long grooves (about 1cm wide) in the bottom of the fresh water tank that it's pretty hard to get the water out of when you're draining off.

I can't imagine that it's doing much good having stagnant water sitting in them between trips.

Is it enough just to flush the tank out a bit before the next proper refill - or do you bother with water purification tabs or something else?

Thanks for any help you can give!

Andy

sallylillian

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 29, 2011
Falmouth, Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Palace Liner 90LO
Exp
Tap water has chlorination which helps to protect the contents over time in a tank. But after several months of it being drained I put a small amount of Milton in the tank and fill it then flush that through all the pipes. My wife moans but one new tank of water and any effect is gone. We use the Brita filter jugs to keep our tea and drinking water fresh and free from all the chemicals that are introduced by different water companies.

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
We always flush the fresh tank before going away and always use Elsil added to the fresh tank on each fill up while away, not because we do not trust local water (well in the UK and and most of mainland Europe) but more because we don't want to take a chance of water related tummy upset spoiling our hard earned time and money from tank contamination. We use fresh water tank water for cooking and hot drinks but use bottled water for drinking. Some will say over the top but hardly a big money outlay or inconvenience so why take that chance.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp