Water Heater - Pure Sine Wave VS Modified Sine Wave Inverters (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I'd like to be able to run this little water heater for occasional use. I've done the sums and reckon my batteries can handle it. It's rated at 1.5kw and takes about 15 minutes to heat up. Would I need a pure sine wave inverter or would a modified sine wave be sufficient? I don't plan on charging my laptop via the inverter (I've got a 12v charger for that) so don't need pure sine for that reason.

Can you recommend a specific inverter for this purpose? ⚡?

<Broken link removed>

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
A modified sine wave will be fine as long as the heater has no complex electronics. Although I agree with Stealaway - it's never wise to run anything off batteries that can operate on gas. 15 minutes use will take more than 25Ah from your battery needing at least 28Ah to replace it.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
Thanks for the replies, both.

How big are your batteries? 1500w will pull 150amps from them while ever it's connected. Not an option in MHO

The batteries are 220 ah.

The figure you give would be true if it was being run for an hour. As it is running for 15 minutes its 31.25ah.

1500w / 12v = 125ah. 125ah / 4 = 31.25 ah.
Plus inverter losses of say, 20%, is 37.25 ah.

If I used it in the morning I'd then have all day for the 300W solar panels or battery to battery charger to top the batteries back up.

A modified sine wave will be fine as long as the heater has no complex electronics. Although I agree with Stealaway - it's never wise to run anything off batteries that can operate on gas. 15 minutes use will take more than 25Ah from your battery needing at least 28Ah to replace it.