VAT, Insurance, exporting... Help needed please (1 Viewer)

Eb Wijkstra

Free Member
Jul 19, 2008
Invercargill, New Zealand
Funster No
Exp
3 years
I am very new to this and have registered just a few hours ago. One of the advices was: Don't be shy, just ask. We don't bite, hence my first attempt.

I am planning to buy a MH in the UK, drive around in Europe for about 4 months and take the MV with me to New Zealand.

I am a perminent resident in New Zealand travelling on a Dutch passport.

Is there anybody who has some experience in this. I mean, what about getting the VAT back, Customs, how about Road user chargers, which insurance.

How can I register a motor vehicle, get proper insurance and all other legal things you have to adhere to without being an UK citizen/resident.

Any advice would be most welcome and certainly very much appreciated.

Thanks.

Kind regards,

Eb W.

moandick

Free Member
Jul 28, 2007
Landrake, Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Euro-shed
Exp
40 +
Motorhome 'freight'

I can answer one part of your question - how to ship it home....

Look <Here>

Given a couple of hours I'm sure we can come up with the rest of your answers. :thumb:

More Info from the bottom of the above 'page'....

New Zealand
How can I find out info on what the Duty/GST costs will be for importing into New Zealand?
GST is payable at 12.5% on the landed value, which is the value of the vehicle, plus freight, plus insurance. Otherwise known as the CIF(Cost+Insurance+Freight) price.
If you are to be exempted from GST you need to meet the following conditions:
Be a first time immigrant or a returning New Zealand citizen.
If a returning citizen, you must have been our of New Zealand for over 21 months.
Be prepared to sign a deed where you agree not to sell the vehicle for at least 2 years.
Vehicle must have been owned and used for last 12 months.
…and you must provide the following documents:
Proof of ownership over the last 12 months