Understanding battery charging system. (1 Viewer)

Feb 16, 2020
KT15.
Funster No
MH
Sunlight. T66. 2019.
Exp
Absolute beginners.
Hi all, I was reading our Sunlight's manual at the weekend, well lock down, it's sort of like getting some use out of the bus:rolleyes:.
It said that when on EHU the priority charging is given to the hab batteries, and a float charge is fed across to the starter battery once the hab battery has sufficient charge. Am I safe to assume that the reverse is the case and when the motor is running , the alternator electric prioritises the starter battery and when that's charged sends a float to the hab batteries ?
Secondly, as the two batteries are linked, will plugging a portable solar panel into the hab batteries initially prioritise the hab batteries and, only when their full overflow across to the starter battery?
Or !!,would it be better to attach a dedicated second fly lead [ fused] to the starter battery, and just plug the panel straight into that when required ?
Many thanks in advance.
Mike.

Last edited:
Aug 4, 2019
North East Riviera
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Enough to Survive
If the engine is running it will charge both batteries......

When off grid and no engine running the batteries are separated, so connecting the portable solar only to the hab battery, will only charge the hab battery. (Same for the cab battery)

If your van control box has solar input, then connecting to this will charge both batteries via your van control and wiring system.

If it doesn’t then it maybe easier to install a Battery Master / CBE CSB2 type device rather than another plug in socket.

If you post the make and model of your van control panel and control box (maybe with pictures) someone will be able to advise you better.👍🏼

These two recent threads might be helpful in showing how different system work differently.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
OP
OP
BouncyBoatFolk
Feb 16, 2020
KT15.
Funster No
MH
Sunlight. T66. 2019.
Exp
Absolute beginners.