Time for a little more comfort (1 Viewer)

Aerialmark

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 13, 2018
Burnley
Funster No
MH
Knaus/Weinsburgh
Exp
I'm new to it
Hi, I just arrived on here looking for a little help and insight into buying our first motorhome. Our budget is relatively small ( around 14 to 15000) we are seasoned campers and have travelled all over Europe in our Land Rover Discovery and roof tent. but as the title says we now want a little more comfort, I will be keeping the car and still camping with friends but just in the UK. I know nothing about motorhomes but hopefully by the time I buy one (around March next year I will know more than I do know and have a better idea of what we want.

Attachments

• IMG_2208.JPG
    IMG_2208.JPG
    237.3 KB · Views: 113

TerryL

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 5, 2010
North East
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
Hi @Aerialmark and :welcome4:

Have a good look around and check out some of the threads about first timers, plenty of advice on here. Ask questions but note you are only allowed 5 posts before you need to join as a full member - best £15 you'll ever spend on motorhoming - but you then get full access to the site, including Jim's book Buying a Motorhome, available in the Resources section. That'll get you started.

Then it's time to start doing some research. The most important thing is layout, which means how the way things are laid out in the van suit your way of life. Go visit as many dealers as you can to check out different layouts and imagine yourselves living in it when it's pouring with rain. Is there enough room, what are the sleeping/cooking,washroom arrangements. Practical Motorhome magazine has a guide that shows 28 different layouts so there'll be one to suit you, but it's more usual to find your ideal van on your third purchase unless you're lucky!