Swift Sundance 630G, 2003 questions (1 Viewer)

Wollow007

Free Member
Dec 17, 2011
Reading
Funster No
MH
Swift Sundance 630g
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi Guy's

I have just returned from a blustery overnight in Wales. I brought the Motorhome around 2 weeks ago and decided to give it a run out prior to traveling further afield, get myself familia with all the knobs and buttons. I have a couple of niggles which I'd like to pass by you guys prior to approaching the dealer and looking a complete plum when nothing's wrong.

I have a warranty, 3 months on a motorhome over 6 years old.

The 630g, Fiat Ducato 2.8 JTD has only 14,500 miles, the engine runs pretty well, pulls well in all gear, the 5th is like an overide gear but works fine. I have noticed that around 2,000 rpm the engine sounds like its drawing to much fuel, like a whering notice, could be that rpm is to low though. If I drop a gear and spin the motor up to 3,000-4,000 rpm then change gear all is well. Do these motors need to be kept at a higher rpm?

Second question, the Fiat engine takes an age to heat up. Maybe 10-20 miles prior to getting to the correct temp. I think the thermostat is stuck open as heater inside the cab works, warms up pretty quickly.

Third question is for the dealer to correct, only right speaker working in the cab. It appears that there are 4 speakers but only front top right works. I have tried all the radio setting without any joy.

Last question for now. The rain in Wales was pretty horrific, the wind was rocking the motorhome pretty well. After a monster downpour I noticed a small puddle of water at the bottom of the main door (hinge side). On closer inspection there appears to be a little water damage, nothing major, it looks like is water were to get thought the door or water was brought in on shoes etc it would collect by the door. I just drove back through torrential rain and no puddle. Is this common?