Sterilising the fresh water tank (2 Viewers)

Suesouthern

Free Member
Jul 18, 2020
Funster No
MH
Pilote G600
Exp
I’m a newbie
Hi all, another daft newbie question. We currently empty our fresh water tank after every trip and then refill with fresh water. How often should we sterilise the fresh water tank ? What should we use and how do you actually do it ? Sorry for the layers of this question Sue

Riverbankannie

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 11, 2016
Bristol
Funster No
MH
IH 630 RL PVC
Exp
Hi all, another daft newbie question. We currently empty our fresh water tank after every trip and then refill with fresh water. How often should we sterilise the fresh water tank ? What should we use and how do you actually do it ? Sorry for the layers of this question Sue
Of course it is not a daft question. We do not drink directly from our tank so I am not too precious about sterilizing it. However I fully drain it in the winter of course and then before first trip after that, I use Puriclean (available from Amazon) just dilute as directed and use about 15 - 20 litres in to fresh tank and pump it through the taps and pipes. Go for a drive around the ring road roundabouts, or drive to first campsite and drain. Flush through with some fresh water.
It’s worth getting the 400gm tub, I have a tub of granules but the link has brought up tablets. Some people carry the tablets and put one or two in the tank when filling up.

Upvote 0
Jan 17, 2014
Wellington, Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 1977
Second for Milton liquid. Plus we always carry Milton tablets when away so that if we pick up water that isn't to our liking we can empty - part fill - add tablets - drive a bit to swill it around - empty and refill from a different source. Remembering to have pumped some of the 'cleaning water' through the plumbing during the process.
We use Milton with the theory that if it's good for babies bottles etc. it's good enough for us!

Upvote 0
OP
OP
S

Suesouthern

Free Member