Sky + Box in Motorhome (1 Viewer)

Jul 6, 2018
Funster No
Probably been covered lots of times but....

...just upgraded to Sky Q and Sky engineer said I could put old Sky+ box in motorhome and connect to satellite. Can get BBC, ITV, Channel 4 & 5 but eg Dave, Quest, Discovery etc. say need viewing card.

Is there any way round this? I thought these channels were free to view and should be obtainable. Don't expect (or want) Sky subscription channels

Any help greatly appreciated

Dave_E

Free Member
Sep 21, 2019
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Could you not use the sky go app for free.I'm looking at getting WiFi for the van and hoping I can stream this and other stuff but still researching it

Jul 29, 2013
Salisbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL A class
Exp
since 2011

...just upgraded to Sky Q and Sky engineer said I could put old Sky+ box in motorhome and connect to satellite. Can get BBC, ITV, Channel 4 & 5 but eg Dave, Quest, Discovery etc. say need viewing card.

Is there any way round this? I thought these channels were free to view and should be obtainable. Don't expect (or want) Sky subscription channels

Exactly why I won’t upgrade to Q as you cannot use Q card in sky HD box. I believe there is an upgraded LNB to put on your dish but not cheap and I cannot comment on how effective it is as don’t have one.😊

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 25, 2016
Taynuilt, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer 655 Starline
Exp
Village idiot
I have Q in the house and a 4g network in the van, firestick and an old MacBook 💻 with sky go on it and I connect it up to tv hdmi and can watch all my sky channels and recording’s also.😷👍

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
The Sky + box is a big old lump to use in a motorhome just for free channels plus needs a mains connection or via an inverter.

Much better to buy a 12v Freesat box.. (y)