Security / Tracker question from a newbie (1 Viewer)

syelad

Free Member
May 23, 2021
Leeds, UK
Funster No
MH
Bailey 79-4i
Exp
I’m a newbie - since 2021
Hi All,

We are picking up a new Bailey Motorhome in a couple of weeks. Does anyone know if we have to have a tracker fitted? Would it depend on the insurance company? Is it something people recommend or is a visible security device a better option? Or both!?

Thank you!

ceejayt

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 12, 2015
Stamford Bridge - Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
RS Elysian A Class
Exp
Since 2004
Up to the insurance company. You can sometimes get a discount by telling them you have one if they haven’t asked for it.
It’s a good idea if nothing else

Upvote 0
Oct 30, 2010
Suffolk or France or ........
Funster No
MH
A Class Carthago Chic
Exp
Since 2008
Depends on the insurer.
I would prefer to have a decent alarm fitted to stop the van being stolen rather than get a damaged van back afterwards.
By a decent alarm I mean an alarm specifically designed for a motorhome and not a modified car alarm.

Richard.

Upvote 0
Nov 13, 2011
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
30 years
From reading a few posts on the subject, it would appear that the insurance discount often is less than the cost of the tracker. Also, not all trackers are totally up to the job.
Your choice at the end of the day.

Geoff

Upvote 0
Jun 13, 2020
Garden of England
Funster No
MH
Hymer ML T570
My experience was such that the value was the thing that seemed to determine whether a monitored tracker was required. £75,000 & £80,000 and above were the figures quoted.
If by choice I would by far prefer to have a good alarm fitted, and if not specifically stipulated by insurance company, coupled with a commercial grade tracker personally added, appx cost £150, with location credits, which switches on say every hour or so, then switches off thereby giving location status but not so easily scanned.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Trout bum