Route Planning & Recording with multiple overnight stops (1 Viewer)

David60

Free Member
Dec 28, 2018
Funster No
MH
In the market to buy
Exp
I'm totally inexperienced!
Good morning all

An app/software in which one can plan (and save) routes in advance, annotate multiple nights stops, add places of interest and share amongst multiple devices or with others.

Before posting this, I have searched the forum. I found some interesting threads, comments and tips but nowhere did I find a compete solution to the above specification ask. I have tried Google Earth, Google Maps, Ordnance Survey (Premium) and others. I'm not necessarily wanting a free app/package (I already pay OS Premium for hiking for instance), but I won't pay unless I can be sure all the elements I require are provided. The stickler is usually the ability to project future dates and recognise multiple-night stop-overs en route.

Lastly, I'm no expert! I may have missed some facility on the more common journey planning apps that's tucked away in a menu system. If so, anyone who might put me straight would be helping enormously. I'd emphasise that what I look for is a tool that can be used for planning initially (well ahead of time), but that can recognise forward dates, multiple night overnights stops and when the time comes, as a route map.

...and yes, I use paper and pencil just now! :)

Thanks all
David

glenn2926

Free Member
Sep 11, 2012
Gods country
Funster No
MH
Chausson
Exp
newbie hired 3
I use Basecamp which is Garmin’s mapping system very easy to use and does what you’re looking to do. Routes can then be uploaded to Garmin devices or shared with other people as required. I use it for motorhome and motorcycle trips. I email the routes to the other riders and they then upload it their device.

Nov 17, 2012
WEST SUSSEX
Funster No
MH
HYMER B SL 674
Exp
SINCE 2005
Good morning all