Rally Chat Rallying with Children? (1 Viewer)

Jaycee3

Free Member
Dec 5, 2016
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello, I am after a bit of info please.

We are new Motorhomers and are looking for rallys/events to attend with our nearly 11 year old son and 2 dogs. We are 45 and 52 by the way. It would be great to meet new people but I am wondering if anyone takes children to these?

Are there any rallies which are more suitable for us than others? Are they ever held on sites with play areas or other facilities or is it always just a field?

Also do Funsters tend to do meets at rallies organised by others i.e. motorhome shows? Or is there anything else we could look at? I noticed there was motorhome camping available at a steam rally near Shrewsbury on the BH weekend but we already had other plans. Somewhere to wander round in the day with entertainment or music at night and a chance to chat with others sounds great.

Does anyone know of anything happening at the end of October? Looking at second half of half term week/second weekend. No fireworks because of the dogs though.

Thanks
Jane

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
My grandkids are now 12 and 10..
They have been out on rallies and motorhoming almost since birth..

Motorhome shows are not that exciting for them but there are one's like Malvern where the western theme does appeal to them.
Steam shows like Welland and the Balloon festival are fantastic events for kids to visit.

Fun rallies are very mixed as they are set up and attended mainly by people with a particular interest or the opportunity to visit a certain area so you need to pick and attend the right ones. Example, The May meet at Thetford, big field and a whole forest to explore. Even motorbike riding..
Camping and caravan club is worth a look at, lots of local meets and child friendly on all the ones we have been to.