Apr 19, 2014
Kent
Funster No
MH
Bailey 79-6
Exp
A few years.
Hi all
First question on here and complete newbie to motorhoming so be gentle with me :giggle:
I am picking up my new Bailey Autograph 79-6 in a couple of weeks but I’m slightly worried about the ride height on it as it uses an ultra low profile Alko Tech chassis and I’ve heard that it can be prone to grounding at the rear as it has a long overhang at the back.
My question is, if I had semi automatic air suspension with an on board compressor installed on the rear suspension, would it raise the ride height at all and if so roughly by how much? Could anyone with experience of air suspension and/or the Bailey Autograph 79-6 comment on this for me.
Many thanks
Howard

Aug 5, 2018
Funster No
MH
a
Mine's a low profile and has a chuffing great steel box section bumper on the back, not ground it out yet and have been in plenty of strange Cornish and devon locations with it.
You're going to struggle fitting air suspension to the rear of an Alko if it has the wee little torsion bar arms instead of good old springs on an axle.

Upvote 0

138go

Free Member
Feb 26, 2016
Funster No
MH
Carthago 138
Exp
Since 2001
Do they make air suspension for ALKO Chassis. Why do they use ultra low chassis on MHs there is no point unless it’s to get the centre of gravity lower or to save a few ££ on fitting an outside step. Noticed one on CL site and it did look very low.

Yes they do Dunlop make one .. £2900 ish

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Aug 5, 2018
Funster No
MH
a
Do they make air suspension for ALKO Chassis. Why do they use ultra low chassis on MHs there is no point unless it’s to get the centre of gravity lower or to save a few ££ on fitting an outside step. Noticed one on CL site and it did look very low.

Yes they do Dunlop make one .. £2900 ish
You can plate them higher weight is the main advantage I think

Upvote 0
Feb 17, 2017
Herefordshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
A Bit