Newbie Security (1 Viewer)

Jan 9, 2020
Merseyside
Funster No
MH
Swift 685
Exp
I’m a newbie
About to pick up our new motorhome 6 months old looks lovely and still smells lovely too. When not in use it will be in a good secure storage facility. The world of security is complex! It’s a Swift 685 and if I read the forum right they are fitted with tracking devices so good to know you can find it if it’s stolen but would rather it wasn’t stolen in the first place so looking for recommendation. We pick the van up Monday I am assuming it has an alarm but I didn’t ask or check! The choice and cost is pretty wide ranging so any pointers welcome

Jan 30, 2020
Mid Bedfordshire
Funster No
MH
RS Endeavour
Exp
Just a tad..
I was in a similar position to you Fatboy1960 and I’m currently parked up in Taunton and having a Vanbits Growler alarm fitted in the morning!

My logic is similar to yours, in that with a mixture of physical security and a high quality alarm, I’ve a fighting chance... tracking it if ‘nicked’ is almost secondary!

Aug 31, 2014
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
4th year
We had our swift bolero stolen of our drive, without the factory fitted tracker we would not have been able to recover it. After this event we have upgraded our security.

It is now fully secure with a van bitz growler and non starter. I have also fitted Heosafe locks on all doors for extra security, and we keep the keys in a Faraday pouch, I am sure it was Relay theft as there was no damage to locks or ignition on recovery. We also have cctv on the drive, so if they attempt to ever try again they will be on camera, and will wake the street up when the Growler goes off, if they get past the heosafe locks.
Even the they wont be able to start as the non starter will stop that.
These we professional thieves as they fitted diplomatic number plates so i have hopefully done all i can to secure ?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 12, 2013
The City of Henlow
Funster No
MH