Jun 7, 2017
Norway
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi everybody!

New on the forum and new to mobilehome life since we bought an A-class Fiat Ducato 2.8 Mirage Alaska 5000 a month ago. Our family situation is me, wifey, daughter 15 and son 8 and a dog. We live in Norway so it's a complete waste to be hooked up from campsite to campsite, and sice we're the outdoorsy types, we want to go free camping (unplugged) for the weekends.

Our RV is standard equiped with 1 polycrystal solar panel (i believe 200 watts) and has a 100 Ah marinelife battery.

While going through the electrical schemes i found out that the battery gets charged by either being hooked up (230v), driving (generator/alternator) or solar panel. I think i found the battery charger and its a 10A charger. After that everything is connected to some form of power supply, wich is located in the a seperate compartment with the battery

My plan is replace this 100AH batter with an Sonnak ES2400 Exide 210 Ah GEL battery and replace or add 1 poly kristal (160wp) solarpanel. Add an inverter so we have 230v while off-the-grid.

Question 1: Can i just replace the 100Ah marinelife battery by a 210Ah GEL battery? Apart from new solar panel/ charger, will it still charge while driving? Will it affect the charging of the car battery?

Question 2: Can i hook up the older 200 watts solarpanel parallel with a newer 160 wp (notice the difference in watts and watt-peak) With new CTEK Multi MXS 25A charger? I would like to have 2 solar panels.

Question 3: If i hook up an inverter 12v to 230v to the battery, can i use both 12v and 230v from the same battery at the same time?

Question 4: Is it easier to create a 2nd circuit with new solarpanel/charger and new battery, and hook it up by a switch to the RV's electrical system (lights, fans, etc.)?

Ill add some pictures with this to make stuff easier. Ofcourse its in italian :/ to make it harder again :)

Thanks in advance guys!

Greets Richard