Newbie ac question (1 Viewer)

Coroda

Free Member
Nov 29, 2017
Funster No
Hi all,
Please excuse the complete newbie question. First motorhome on order delivery April 2018, we have specified a Truma Aventa Comfort AC unit.
What’s everyone opinions on AC?
Is it required ? Money well spent? Just a noisy waste of cash?
As newbies we plan to visit campsites throughout Europe in the summer months so very keen on feedback before we actually spend, especially on the specific model in question.
Thanks in advance

Oct 2, 2008
Salopia
Funster No
MH
Duro 6x6 Overlander
Exp
since 1968
AC is well worth it when its hot and you want a goods nights sleep
when you expect to be having a long drive the next day . The caveat is that the EHU in a fair few especially European sites not of enough ampage to run larger units. I have one US unit which needs quite a lot of power and a smaller euro Waeco unit that needs less to cover all bases. You should be OK with the Truma as it only needs about 6 amps max on start up .

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
Frequently travel Europe in the summer months and have never felt the need for AC. Its drawbacks are that it needs EHU so no good on aires, its noisy so may disturb sleep rather than aiding it. Its also heavy so eats into payload.

A good fan type roof vent and intelligent use of sunblinds seems sufficient in most cases. Cab aircon is a big plus though.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
C

Coroda

Free Member
Nov 29, 2017
Funster No
Thanks for the thoughts so far......only problem now is it’s a 50-50 split!

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
We put one on our Autotrail FB.

We travel for around six months of the year, mostly Spain. Usually April - June and September to December

In four years of ownership I think we used it about 10 times.

They are heavy so eat into the payload and a bit noisy at night.