Network Software

Discussion in 'Computers' started by ShiftZZ, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,059
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +42,801
    A friend of mine mentioned that he had used some software that enabled him to control access and view files to all of the pc's and printers etc on his home Lan, he was suggesting that the package enabled him to operate each PC as if he was logged on,,,,,

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Ratings:
    +5,036
    Ask him? (sorry, could not resist) :winky:
     
  3. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,463
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Ratings:
    +6,109
    Its called Logmein, I use it to see what stock I have in Hastings warehouse.

    There are various others, just google it

    You wont get in Jims site though!!!!:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

    Peter
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Ratings:
    +5,036
    Sorry ShiftZZ, 'ere's a more useful suggestion than my last one.....

    http://www.crossloop.com

    I used to use it in my 'Microsoft' days but I use Apple now so can't really help.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20,059
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +42,801
    He just replied and the package was called "Cisco Network Magic Pro 5.5" any good?
     
  6. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,463
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Ratings:
    +6,109
    How would I know silly billy, I use Logmein:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

    By the way none of them end up being free.

    Peter
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Ratings:
    +4,476
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    28,330
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Ratings:
    +92,983
    Hasn't Windoze got its own remote desktop connection, just set it up and login
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    It its really a network management/admin tool for small networks - like a Small office. and was discontinued by Cisco in August - but you can still get copies around the web if you want to

    What is it you are wanting to do? if it just local sharing at home then the simplest in windows world is a file and printer sharing settings - and if all your PC's are win7 then just set up a home group

    if not then there are other solutions
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. mdixon

    mdixon

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +101
    Try This

    I use Teamviewer

    Totally free for non-commecial use
    Just download onto your PC at home and note down the number it gives the computer. If you pre-password it you can access it whenever it is on.

    I use a tablet to connect when I am not there. Teamviewer has an app for android.

    Have a try - If you want help PM me

    www.teamviewer.com
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. cbrookson

    cbrookson

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +120
    Not all versions of Windows support Remote Desktop.

    Use this (which is free). Will work inside a network:
    http://www.tightvnc.com/

    and support lots of platforms.

    Cheers
     
  12. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,926
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +21,957
    I was going to suggest a combination of VNC and file/printer sharing.

    OR move to linux and do it all properly:ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. Dubiousp

    Dubiousp

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +45
    Teamviwer
     
Loading...

Share This Page