National Coal Mining Museum Wakefield (1 Viewer)

Nov 25, 2013
kent
Funster No
MH
Swift Kontiki 669
Exp
Since April 2013
Took a trip there today, what a gem, they only charge £5.00 per head for the underground tour. It lasted two hours and was hosted by “ex miners “. Excellent Cafe serves huge bacon baps, The exhibits above ground are well presented, could has spent another two hours there . Don’t miss it. We parked in a coach bay with consent .

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Strange isn’t it, all the time I worked as a service engineers in the pit I never went to Wakey.

And I lived only a couple of miles from there ?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Nov 30, 2009
Pickering
Funster No
MH
PVC the PUG
Exp
Since 2009 with motorhomes several caravans then tents before that.
I took the kids a few times when we lived over there. They used to enjoy going downt pit too. Then fussing over the pit ponies . Do they still have some there?
I remember one of the miners showing us mussel shells down there and saying the area was all under the sea thousands of years ago.
I used to pass the place every day when going to work in Huddersfield . Watch your speed though . It goes 30/40/30/50/60/40/30 along that road. Numerous speed cameras too.

Nov 30, 2009
Pickering
Funster No
MH
PVC the PUG
Exp
Since 2009 with motorhomes several caravans then tents before that.
In fact I’ve a pic from the Wakefield express of the 3 of them looking at the displays above ground, one summer, that they used to advertise the place somewhere.

Dec 5, 2017
York, UK
Funster No
MH
Bailey Autograph 745
Exp
Almost approaching average
I took the kids a few times when we lived over there. They used to enjoy going downt pit too. Then fussing over the pit ponies . Do they still have some there?
I remember one of the miners showing us mussel shells down there and saying the area was all under the sea thousands of years ago.