Last door locked? (1 Viewer)

Mar 23, 2017
Chudleigh, Devon
Funster No
MH
Compass Avantgarde 2
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi all, I'm looking at security on my motorhome.

It's a 51 plate Compass so I don't think it is a target for theft. We have ways and means of securing doors and windows when we are inside it. When parked at home I remove the steering wheel.

My main concern is having it broken into when left unattended in a car park/laybay when we go for a walk site seeing etc. (Spain/France) There will be nothing of any significant value left inside, but I'd rather not come back to van with a broken door/window etc.

An alarm might scare someone off (eventually) but they've already broken in.

Having worked through all permutations/scenarios, it always leaves me with the 'last door locked' problem. You can do all sorts to prevent doors/windows being opened, but you still have to go out of a door and lock it from the outside

Which leads me back to an additional habitation door lock. I know some have said these are not robust enough to prevent a determined thief, and in attempting to break in the thief will do lots of damage to the door (which will cost more than the value of anything inside worth nicking). But maybe its presence will deter/slow down a thief that just wants to nick some cash and a camera? (neither of which would have been left inside anyway!).

Or, would additional locks on the driver/passenger door be best?

I'm interested how others have dealt with the last door locked conundrum?

Brendan

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User
Hi all, I'm looking at security on my motorhome.

It's a 51 plate Compass so I don't think it is a target for theft. We have ways and means of securing doors and windows when we are inside it. When parked at home I remove the steering wheel.