Free Member
May 2, 2017
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail V Line 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi All, we have a Truma Combi 6E fitted to our small A Class and on both gas and electric it does us very well for both hot water and warmth. However something has been nagging my "this could be better" part of the brain. The warm air is conducted around the van by the ubiquitous flexible cylindrical ducting. Some parts of our van are not double floored so the ducting (shortly after it leaves the boiler) dives through the floor & runs along the underneath of the van before re entering elsewhere and continuing its journey to the various outlets. This happens in a couple of places and in total I suppose about 2 -3 metres of the ducting are exposed to "fresh air" underneath the van. It's clearly intended to be like this since all the pictures in the handbook show it this way but I can't help feeling we'd get a bit more heat out of the system if these external runs were lagged or insulated in some way. Does anyone else have the external ducting thing and have you lagged them/boxed them in in some way? Did it improve the heating/economy? Any thoughts, tips, hints greatly appreciated.

Jul 29, 2013
Salisbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL A class
Exp
since 2011
It would certainly be a good idea to lag them, our Exsis is part double floors but all heating ducts are internal even the tanks are heated but no external ducting. Perhaps some foil lagging that you could wrap around and tape on would do the trick.

Upvote 0
Jul 18, 2009
Manchester UK + Javea/Xabia Spain + Abu Dhabi
Funster No
MH
HYMER B644
Exp