Fitting a Microwave (1 Viewer)

Oct 9, 2020
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Trend 7057
Exp
Hi All
I want to fit a microwave oven to one of my kitchen cupboards - the dimensions are ok but getting to a socket will be difficult. In this cupboard I have come across some wires and dont know what they are for and could they be used for a mains supply?
wires.png

Feb 16, 2020
KT15.
Funster No
MH
Sunlight. T66. 2019.
Exp
Absolute beginners.
Hi All
I want to fit a microwave oven to one of my kitchen cupboards - the dimensions are ok but getting to a socket will be difficult. In this cupboard I have come across some wires and dont know what they are for and could they be used for a mains supply?View attachment 539013
Hello, I have a Sunlight, same stable as the Dethleff, I can't recall seeing any grey flex amongst the myriad of wiring on board our bus. White cables are generally mains supply[ 240v]. With the conventional brown + Blue -. Black shrouding is generally 12v ,however, BLUE is now the + and Brown is the -. Orange is also used as a mains feed for the Truma, but fed from a junction box. Have you a volt stick, or multi meter? I wonder if that's a circuit put in by a previous owner, if new to you, but not a new van? It seems to be looping on to another bit of kit,but as said, test it first, starting with the higher 240v mains option on a multi meter.
Mike.

Upvote 0
Apr 27, 2016
Manchester
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
Since the 80s
Even if those wires are mains voltage, the fact that there's no earth wire means it's unsuitable for a microwave oven, which will have exposed metal parts. However I suspect those wires are 12V. You need to check with a meter - remembering to switch to AC mode when checking for 240V AC.

Upvote 0
Aug 12, 2020
Edinburgh
Funster No
MH
Accordo 120
Exp
Sept 2019