Clutch, Fiat 2.3, 130 (1 Viewer)

Jan 31, 2016
Alness, Cromarty Firth
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 (2012)
Exp
Our van has developed a fault with the clutch.

Press the pedal down and it sticks, not rising back up. We have to hook it back up (with foot) and it sort of flicks back. But after a few miles it sticks more and more till it does it every time.

We then have to put gears in neutral and pump the pedal 10 or 15 times to get some pressure back, whereby it is okay till it starts doing it again. I think it's clutch fluid problem as pumping the pedal make it pressurised again, but I'm no expert.

I did look to see if a return spring had broken but I cannot see anything missing.

Any ideas ?

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
I think There was a thread on this a while back.
The brake and clutch use the same reservoir and the clutch slave cylinder is hidden away somewhere inside the Bell housing I believe.
Can't remember what the outcome was.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 18, 2014
Lorca,Murcia,Spain
Funster No
MH
Transit PVC
Exp
16 years since restarting
as others have said check fluid level first & that it is above the clutch outlet pipe which will not be more than half way down on the side. It can also be excessively dirty fluid , so bleeding it might help.

Sep 17, 2017
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
A-Class
Exp
Mine started sticking to the floor while doing the passes over the Alps from Italy into France a couple of years back on a Friday night. I was being pretty hard on it, probably shifting under some load to keep the turbo singing when to build momentum up when climbing from hairpins. I limped off the mountain to a camp site and waited until Monday morning for the garage to open to come and pick us up on a low loader.