Buy and keep MH in Spain while living in UK? (1 Viewer)

Sep 14, 2020
Brighton & Hove
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
I'm planning on buying a motorhome, probably in 2021. I'm doing a lot of research at present. I will be buying a second-hand vehicle.

The ideal way for me to do it, I think, is to buy it in Spain and keep it in Spain.

I've been looking at discussions about this here and at other places on the Internet.

I get the impression that if the vehicle is registered in the UK then it has to come back to the UK for an MOT every year. Also it could only be in Spain for six months at a time.

I do know people who have a villa in Spain and a car there in Spain while at the same time they have their home in the UK. So I am thinking that what I would need really is an address in Spain.

I'm wondering if it would be possible to register and insure the vehicle in Spain using a PO Box or something like that?

If need be I could keep the vehicle in Spain for six months and then bring it back to the UK for six months. However I think it would be easier just to keep it in Spain all the time.

Anyway I'd appreciate any comments to put me in the right direction for research.

Thank you!

138go

Free Member
Feb 26, 2016
Funster No
MH
Carthago 138
Exp
Since 2001
You will only be able to go for three months in every 180 days, so what’s the point of keeping it there. One of the joys of MH is being able to pack your own stuff at home and then set off. If you have to fly out you can’t do that. There are also insurance implications.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Fitz Blitz
Sep 14, 2020
Brighton & Hove
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thank you for your reply.

I should say that I am an Irish citizen as well as a British citizen so there is no restriction on the amount of time I can spend in Spain.

I think I can keep enough stuff in the motorhome and then just take anything I need in addition in a suitcase.