Blade fuse size for 12v sockets (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
My parents want to install a 12v "cigarette lighter type" socket into their MH. This will be to power their 12V TV.

On the power brick (pictured) it says it is 60W.

TV Brick.jpg

So to work out the amps I've done 60W / 12V = 5A
plus 25% = 5A X 1.25 = 6.25A so I could use a 7.5A fuse, assuming they will only plug in the TV. However I know they will end up unplugging the TV and using the socket for other things.

The socket is rated up to 20 amps. So if they put something into socket that is higher rated than my 60W TV I'll be blowing the 7.5A fuse intended for the TV.

So what size fuse would you use / do you use for your 12V sockets?

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
Cheers Phil,

I'm thinking of using a 15 amp fuse and 4mm2 wire which is rated at 41 amp.

I'm connecting the wires direct to the battery terminals with an inline blade fuse holder. (They have no 12v sockets or fuse panel in place already and only want one socket.)

I think this should be okay?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I assume it's okay to connect the 4mm2 wires directly to the terminals of the battery via this type of terminal extension and the appropriate size lugs and use an inline fuse?

I my van everything is conected via a 12v fuse panel / bus bar. I assume this inline thing does exactly the same thing.

s-l500.jpg

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
I'm thinking of using a 15 amp fuse and 4mm2 wire which is rated at 41 amp.
Size of cable depends on the cable length you want to aim for a volt drop of 3% or less.