Battery not charging when connected to mains (2 Viewers)

Edinemms

Free Member
Sep 4, 2021
Funster No
MH
decathleffs
Hey,
We are out on our first camper van trip. When we parked up last night wild camping, out battery died towards the end of the evening and the alarm for the battery started to flash to say there was no power. Then toddy when we were driving it charged back up again. Tonight we camped at a campsite and connected to mains to give it a good charge but again early this evening the battery had died and the battery alarm has come on again , even though we are connected to mains - can anyone help?? Thanks

Aug 20, 2020
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Home Car P59
Exp
I'm a newbie
Battery will be goosed , how old is it , 3-4 years is all you get out of them , less if they've gone completely flat

Or the charger isn't working , when driving the alternator charges it up , on mains it'll be a battery charger

Upvote 2
Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
Hi and welcome.

Unless you were using a lot of power I would suggest you get the battery tested.
It sounds as if your is nacked

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
Also your battery should not go low while still on electric hook up.

If it has then you need to get the charger checked or even make sure iit is switched on.

Upvote 0
Jul 31, 2014
West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
EuraMobil Activa 820HS
Exp
Do you have a switch or button to press next to your charger which switches on the charge facility when hooked up to electric?
Is there an RCD switch which has been tripped?
Check these as it could be something as simple as this.
Also, if you’re on a site, go ask one of your neighbours - caravan or Motorhome and ask them if they can help you. Chances are, they may have a similar set up to yours and may be able to have a look for you.