Autotrail V line 540 se automatic - Newbie looking for advice on buying (1 Viewer)

Sep 12, 2021
Cirencester, UK
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Hello. Newbie here!

I would be grateful for advice on the Autotrail V line 540 se please. I have seen a lot of negative reviews online about Autotrail, including a dedicated Facebook page for unhappy owners reporting problems with their vehicles and poor customer service, but on paper the 540 se offers what I’m looking for.

I am completely new to motorhoming and want shower/toilet etc in the most compact vehicle I can find, and I definitely want an automatic. As these are very hard to find second hand, I’m considering buying new on the basis that I will get the spec I want and it should hold its value well as there are so few around and new vehicle prices are increasing. I looked at the Autosleeper Symbol and Westfalia Amundsen 540 but they are significantly more expensive.

I would love some feedback about Autotrail, the 540 she model, and generally what to look for when buying. It’s not possible to go and see lots of models side by side and test drive them, so will have to choose based on spec.

Many thanks in advance.

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
A lot of the negatives are based on the coachbuilt vans and water ingress. I should know :whistle2: :doh:
7 years of ownership, 6 years of issue.. BUT there are many happy owners who have had no issues.

The V line is a Panel van conversion, so really most of the problems associated with water ingress are eliminated. After all its a metal van with just a few holes cut in for windows and roof vents etc,,, There was a time when the V line had a bad reputation because of an issue with the windows, that was a few years ago so i can only assume its all been sorted now.

I have had a Trigano panel van in the past, made by Autotrail (2005) the V line is really the updated and higher spec.