Dreamer Living Van (1 Viewer)

Jul 8, 2020
Edinburgh
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I’m a newbie
I was surprised when you mentioned a 5.1kg gas bottle for the Dreamer Living Van, but checking the spec that is exactly what the brochure indicates. I can only assume it is a size available in France, but as to the dimensions I can't assist. I suspect if you're unable get to see and measure one in the flesh, so to speak, an enquiry to Rapido/Dreamer should elicit the answer, so you can determine whether a standard UK 6kg bottle can be installed. If so, it would be straightforward to use a refillable cylinder. An alternative could be addition of an underslung tank. You can get 4.5kg exchange propane gas bottles in the UK - not sure about refillable?

Thinking that 5.1kg is a small capacity for a French-converted van - many can handle 1 or 2 x 11kg bottles - but I see space heating in the Living van is fuelled by diesel, and the fridge is a compressor design, so presumably the gas supply is for cooking only.
Thanks. Yes, the gas is only for cooking, given the diesel heating. I'm trying to work out what can be secured bottle-wise here in the UK for this van. I will email the manufacturers and find out. I just hoped someone on the network was an owner of such vehicle and could advise what they have used.

Upvote 0

mikebeaches

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 22, 2010
Bristol
Funster No
MH
Rapido V68 Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2009
Thanks. Yes, the gas is only for cooking, given the diesel heating. I'm trying to work out what can be secured bottle-wise here in the UK for this van. I will email the manufacturers and find out. I just hoped someone on the network was an owner of such vehicle and could advise what they have used.
Totally understand that, and obviously handy if someone here does have a Dreamer Living van.