windows very very slow startup

Discussion in 'Computers' started by shortfuse, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. shortfuse

    shortfuse Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inverness
    Hi All
    Hoping someone could give me an idea what the problem could be with an old computer I'm trying to revive.
    It takes about 40 to 50 minutes to start up , once started it works fine ,press restart and it takes another 40 to 50 minutes.
    I've reformatted the hard drive and reinstalled windows XP , increased the memory to 1 gig and it has an Athlon 2.4 CPU . Shut down is very fast-just a couple of seconds .
    When you press start it goes through the usual self test beeps then the screen goes blank. After anout 10 minutes a bar shows on the botton of the screen and very slowly "fills in" over the next 30 minutes , then Windows finally starts

    Thanks for reading this ( takes me longer to type this than the old computer takes to start )
    regards sf
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,236
    Likes Received:
    34,433
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Initial thought is some problem with memory. Are all the DIMMs seated properly? Is it the correct type of memory for the motherboard (e.g. not PC133 when it should be PC100)?

    Second thought - check what programs and other services are included in start-up and disable them unless needed.

    Graham
     
  3. Maurice & Val

    Maurice & Val Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hornsea, East Yorkshire
    Try resetting the bios to defaults. I had a similiar problem a while back on an old base pc and it turned out the bios was corrupt. Removed the on-board battery, waited a while and reset it. Worked fine after that.
     
  4. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    76,160
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Disable stuff at start up, follow this tutorial and see if it makes a difference. TBH though I suspect you may have a hard disk on the way out.
     
  5. shortfuse

    shortfuse Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inverness
    Many thanks for the replies , the memory seems ok and is showing as i gig when checked and the start up is more or less empty as its a clean install .Wish I knew more about computers. I was wondering about the hard disc but it goes fine when it finally gets going. So I'm off to try the bios and try my luck there
    thanks again
    regards sf
     
  6. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Gone RVing
    Daft as it sounds, have you got an anti virus program installed?

    We had Norton and it took our machine 20-30mins to get going, removed and went to avg free and it's now about 5 mins, modern software/old PC?
     
  7. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    76,160
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    At what stage does it appear to hang, would it be "Loading Personal Settings"
     
  8. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Not quite in the same vein, but I thought I'd share this with the good folk here.....

    http://www.rapidrise.org//showthread.php?t=78714

    This shows you how to speed up Vista and Win7 by utilising all of the cores in those multi-core processors we spend so much money on.
    Did you know the default is to only use one core? :Eeek:
    No? :Doh:

    Neither did I. Follow the tips from the above link, and hey presto.

    Even works with XP.........................:thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  9. shortfuse

    shortfuse Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inverness
    Hi Again
    There is nothing loaded apart from the basic windows XL .the machine will not be connected to the internet so anti virus not required I never got the chance to try the bios yet as we have visitors round to see about my sons upcoming wedding:Sad: the minute they leave I'll give it a try
    regadrs again sf
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I had this issue with a fairly new Sony and it was a dying hard drive, it final failed and was replaced under warranty
     
  11. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
    :Eeek:
    Oh dear it needs a log in......grrrrrrrrrrrr
     
  12. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Sorry 'bout dat, but worth registering anyway.
    It's a bit long-winded to try and explain the malarkey here, which I why I put up the link.
     
Loading...

Share This Page