Which van to convert? High top medium wheel base! (1 Viewer)

Happycoach

Free Member
Feb 19, 2019
Funster No
MH
Dont own one yet
Exp
Im a newbie
new to the land of camper vans but familiar with fitting out interior domestic designs. We are seriously looking to experience our own countryside and costal beauty, over extended trips, but which make would you guys suggest as the best host vehicle, looking at crafter, sprinter and master ( merc, vw, Renault/ Vauxhall’s) . Finances dictate host vehicle £5000-£10000, the budget to fit it out, would be above but not massive. Are there any positives and negative experiences you could share to help guide our hunt. thanks in advance

Attachments

• F2032ED8-01CA-4BE5-8014-A8AB9480B97C.jpeg
    F2032ED8-01CA-4BE5-8014-A8AB9480B97C.jpeg
    177.5 KB · Views: 41
Jan 17, 2014
Wellington, Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 1977
Here is an interesting Blog for you to follow on the converting a New Crafter into a Motor Caravan https://vanwolf.blog/

I've been along the route of converting LWB VW Thansporters five times during the past 14yrs. We've loved them and been all over Europe in them. I'm willing to share any knowledge that may help anyone.

Sep 17, 2017
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
A-Class
Exp
Not considering shorter Ducatos? If you are under 6' tall, you can sleep across a Ducato. Sprinter/Crafter and Master are too narrow. Sleeping transverse opens up a lot of possible layouts.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Deleted User
Have a look at diymotorhome.co.uk which is a sister site to this one, may get some ideas from there.

MisterB

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 25, 2018
Essex
Funster No
MH
Adria 670 SLT
Exp
enough to know i shouldnt touch things i know nothing about ....
Have you considered a Nissan Elgrand import from Japan. A lot of them come with pop up roof already fitted?

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)