What does my fridge run on? (1 Viewer)

Jan 9, 2022
Colchester, UK
Funster No
MH
Pilote G732
Exp
Total Newbie
We’re parked outside the father in laws with no hook up, bearing in mind he’s a sparky amongst other trades, I’ve said it’s not good enough!!
I left the fridge set to use battery, assuming that it used the leisure batteries and they would be recharged by the solar but the fridge is slowly getting warm and the starter battery voltage is 12.6.
Switched it onto gas and all seems to be fine but will check later to make sure.
Should the fridge run off the leisure batteries?

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Most 3 way fridges only run off the battery with the engine running. They consume a fair bit of power on 12v. Also be aware that 12v battery setting is really just to help maintain the temperature once the fridge is cool, not to actually cool the fridge down 👍

Feb 18, 2017
Greenwich, London, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer MLT 570
Exp
Depending on age and make and model the normal default setting is:

If EHU is available the fridge will run on 240v electricity.
If no 240v electricity then the next default setting is gas.
If no 240v or gas then it will run on 12v electricity, but that tends to be only a cooler, not a fridge.

If you are driving, the fridge will keep cool on 12v
When you stop, after 15 mins, the gas will start, unless 240v available

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
We’re parked outside the father in laws with no hook up, bearing in mind he’s a sparky amongst other trades, I’ve said it’s not good enough!!
I left the fridge set to use battery, assuming that it used the leisure batteries and they would be recharged by the solar but the fridge is slowly getting warm and the starter battery voltage is 12.6.