Water pump just stopped pumping ! help ?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by autoswan, Jul 23, 2015.

  1. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    The mrs used the cold tap fine then a minute later nothing ! pump not making noise to show its on anymore ?
    I checked fuses in control panel are ok 2015-07-23 17.49.41.jpg

    Were on hook up at the moment on a site on Ile De Re France.

    There are 2 switches in wardrobe for hot water i think 2015-07-23 17.57.23.jpg

    The boiler feels quite hot as if its full of hot water so i switched off the 2 above pic for now.
    The boiler 2015-07-23 17.48.59.jpg has no obvious fuses showing unless i have to pull off the small triangular lid just above the wire on pic ?

    The pump 2015-07-23 17.48.22.jpg has a plastic cover over i think is a filter it dripped when i unscrewed it a little.

    So any ideas what i can try to get it going again will be appreciated, many thanks Jack.
     
  2. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    Surrey
    Do any taps work? It depends whether they use pressure or have micro switches as to next course of action.
     
  3. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    Thanks for replying DanielFord No taps working they are lever mixer taps the mh is a 2004 autotrail cheyenne if that helps ? I dont know anything about micro switches though ?
     
  4. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    Surrey
    Probably pressure activation then, a bit odd that it would suddenly conk out with no warning. I am in agreement with your inspections, you clearly suspect a blown fuse, I think there must be one in the pump unit somewhere. Beyond that I am afraid I cannot help. :-(
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    OK Thanks, i think i have the boiler manual with me il see if i can dig it out to see if theres anything i can try.
     
  6. mike mcglynn

    mike mcglynn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Location:
    St. Helens MERSEYSIDE
    If your van is like mine it has the control panel over the hab door unscrew the panel after sliding off the cover and unplug from wire leave for a minute and then reconnect you should hear the pump start then all is well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,498
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Simple and easy way to check pump quickly is to use a Multitester and see if you have a voltage to the pump. If so pump may be dead - if no voltage at pump end there is a fuse along that feed.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. rolandrat

    rolandrat Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    256
    Location:
    Lancashire
    The pump you have fitted is common to Auto-Trails and can pack up without any warning. It looks easy to get to so what I suggest based on what you have said is uncouple the pipework and wiring and split the impeller housing. Inside you will see the pressure mechanism. There is every possibility that there is a build up of water impurities on the contacts. Clean them up and test it for working on your leasure or engine battery before you put it back. If it fails to work then you need a replacement. Usually they are very reliable but Auto-Trail once told me that a bad batch had been received and were failing earlier than normal. As your motorhome is getting on in years there's a possibility that it has packed in through fair wear and tear. If there was a bad connection in the water line it wouldn't stop running until you turned the switch off. I have been let down whilst away from home and since then I always carry a spare one along with a gas regulator. By the way if you need a new one just check the operating pressure on the side of the pump and replace it like for like as there are other operating pressures available.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  9. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    I tried disconnecting control panel and reconnecting it earlier as it has solved a glitch before but not this time, i had a go at checking glass fuse in boiler but even contorting with a torch i couldnt get close enough to be sure its still ok so will have to strip bed above to look down on it to check it properly when the girls are out. i checked wires back as far as i could see for in line fuses but none where i could trace them. i left my multi tester at home on workshop bench so i wouldnt forget it ! :oops:
    I just hope its not the pcb , the boiler is still hot though i shut off power to it including another switch i found under cooker i think they may have fuses in them to check too ?
    Anything else i can do ?
    Ive explained to the boss if it comes to it the cold drain off at external rear is our new cold tap and the boiler drain off if still filling without pump and getting hot with switches on is our new hot water tap till i can get it fixed ! just like camping the old way without 5 gallon container lugged to n from a tap :whistle:

    Stripping the pump sounds like a lot of work on holiday unless i get left home alone for a while here, so i may wait till we get home to deal with it if an easier fix dont work
     
  10. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1,996
    Location:
    leicester
    Dont think its worth looking at the boiler fuse if the cold doesnt work as well it must be the pump or pump power supply.Did you get the fuses out of the fuse box and check them all or just look at the circuit breakers?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    I checked all the spade fuses on the board are ok and the breakers are all on none tripped.
    after i took top off boiler fuse cover and put it back the pump did make a sound for a second then nothing so i think its all pointing to a fault at or with the pump ?
    Ive shut all power to the pump/boiler off for now and if still not working i will try having a go at the pump after beach duties etc tomorrow .
    Thanks for all the replies you`ve really helped me get my brain back in gear but any other ideas are still most welcome.(y)
     
  12. robrace

    robrace Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    WARWICK
    Friend had same problem!!It took about 10mins to take it out and about 10more to strip and clean it a out.Put it back and it worked fine.I always carry a spare just in case!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    Will I need to completely drain fresh water tank to take pump off the speed fit pipes ? Or will it be ok to just put a tray under it as there's no pressure now everything's off ?
     
  14. FULL TIMER

    FULL TIMER Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    712
    Location:
    NORWICH
    this may sound stupid but has anyone knocked or turned of the switch to the pump if it is a pressurised system as it should be with that pump then there will be a switch. the boiler will have nothing to do with the pump the glass fuse is only for the protection of the boilers 12v circuit board. If the cover on the pump you are talking about is the one where the red wires enter then this only houses the pressure switch there will be a screw on the end of this which is only there to adjust the cut in / cut out on the pressure switch. this might be worth trying, one of the red wires should be live (as long as it is switched on or fuse hasn't blown) disconnect both red wires from the pump pressure switch and temporarily join together using a spare blade fuse if you have one or a bit of wire if not, the pump should now work, if it does it tells you the pressure switch is knackered, if it doesn't then it could be the actual pump motor.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    I will have to digest that idea and if I can work out in my head how to do that I will try , I'm better with bricks and cement than
    electrickery mechanicals hahaha (y)

    The only switches I can see are the 2 single socket sized ones in the wardrobe one has ultra heat on it and another socket under cooker I think says ultra heat too ? I can't see a switch on pump tho ?
     
  16. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,331
    Likes Received:
    21,660
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    The switches you refer to are mains switches. They will not affect any 12v stuff at all.
    I would say the pump has died a death.

    Fortunately they are REALLY easy to change out, as long as you can get a replacement where you are ( but they are VERY common so you should have no problem

    The tank is below the pump so you will not have to drain it down...
    However, the water in the pipes ( esp. the shower one ) will want to make a bid for freedom so have a couple of towels and a saucepan at the ready !
    The pipes simply unscrew, and the two wires are usually on spade terminals
    Worse way, its a 30 minute job to swap a pump over (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. rolandrat

    rolandrat Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    256
    Location:
    Lancashire
    It's obvious the first time you have been confronted with this problem but don't despair. The first port of call is the fuse. If that's ok then you need to remove the pump from the wall and strip the top end down, it's a simple job to do. Once you have exposed the impeller area you will see a WISHBONE which is on a cradle, usually this has a tendency to stick, stopping the pump from working. Clean it up so that it is free on the cradle, put it all back together and try it on your leisure battery or engine battery before you put it back. Hopefully your problem will be solved otherwise it will be the motor that's called it a day. Good Luck.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. gillnphil

    gillnphil Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    3,385
    Location:
    West Suffolk
    Our van has a switch which cuts off all the pump supply in the area where you open the waste water valve. Like full timer says, you could have unwittingly switched it off, I have done this a few times by accident.
    Phil
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    Well I did as advised stripped pump down checked all bits mentioned free and clean, I blew, sucked and shook it then got carried away I opened the Magnito bit ! Had great fun getting the sprung brushes back on coil . After a rest I worked a way of getting them back on using 2 cocktail sticks.
    Put it all back together after an hours messing about mostly due to the brushes bit and what ya know it's working fine again :cool:

    I just hope it lasts now, thanks for all your help guys you were a great help (n) Jack,
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    One more thing if I may, is it ok to leave the 3 switches I mentioned earlier on all the time as when on hook up the water is always hot in the boiler or should they be switched on n off only when hot water is required ?
    They have always been on since we got this mh .
     
Loading...

Share This Page