TV Aerial.. help please.

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by old-mo, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,716
    Likes Received:
    38,612
    Location:
    Dorset
    Has any member got one of these types of aerial ?


    It came on my 5er that was delivered yesterday and I have tried to get a picture through the freeview box to no avail,, I conected direct to the TV and got one channel but not a good picture.. I am at home, in a poor area and have a booster box and a special aerial for all the houshold TV`s on freeview,, got a good picture with the STATUS aerial in the caravan which I have just sold.

    I assume they are ok in the states but not in the UK,, am I right..

    Another question,, I have had numrous 240 sockets put in the van,, but the old or american type are still there,, I connected a small light to them which had a 25wat bulb,, it lit but not very bright,, is this because it is going through some kind of american system,, and will it hurt if I just up the table lamp to a 40 Watt bulb or am I likely to overload the american socket or wire ?

    Thanks in Anticipation.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi

    The aerial is a Winegard , I have the same one but don't use it, others say it works fine on UK free view.. I gave up on terrestrial TV, satellite is far better if your travelling.

    The American sockets are 110v fed from the transformer that was installed for the UK conversion.. you can use any 110v appliances or lights.

    Edit

    Forgot to congratulate on the new toy :thumb:... good luck , safe travels :Smile:

    Jim
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2008
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,895
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    if you're in a purely digital transmitter area it probably wont work.
    should work on anologue signal though.
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,895
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    if its a table lamp then have a look <<<HERE>>>

    110v bayonet and screw cap bulbs.

    110v 40w £2.45
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2008
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    More Info

    WINEGARD Aerial - Complete Assembly

    Built-in amplifier and unique circuitry give you clear VHF/UHF reception whenever you park your RV. Raise, lower and rotate antenna with hand crank inside your RV. Raise antenna approximately 40” above roof when parked and lower to only 4” for travel. Streamlined embossed wing design for strength and durability. 22-1274 includes antenna and lift assembly, +12 VDC white power supply with on/off switch, white interior control parts, 20’ of 75 ohm coax cable, 6’ TV set cord. 22-1278 includes amplified antenna/lift, ivory interior control parts, no power supply or cable.


    ABP Accessories - Your First Choice For Motorhome & RV Accessories - WINEGARD Aerial - Complete Assembly!
     
  6. tuscancouple

    tuscancouple Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kent
    We gave up with the ondoard aerial, tried a couple of mobile type aerials which didn't work very well, now using a high gain house aerial on a mast clamped to the roof ladder and it works a treat :BigGrin:

    Use the satelitte set up when we travel in Europe.

    Mick
     
  7. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,716
    Likes Received:
    38,612
    Location:
    Dorset
    We use a dish for anything longer than a weekend or on the continent,, but have to take our box and card from home,,

    But this beasty we just got came with TV, and DVD/radio/and some kodak thing and a freeview box and that funny aerial,, just thought while it was all fitted will try and get it all to work, the DVD thingy works and the built in DVD in the free view works,, but cannot get the aerial to do anything, or tune the telly into the aerial..

    I am afraid to admit it but my wife is more switched on with elemtronics and puters than me.. :Doh:

    A kind funster member has offered to talk me through what we have to do,, so hopefully all will be well.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Have you powered the thing up:Doh: Mine works A1 with freeview and terrestrial but without power it wont work at all
    inside or under a high level cupboard you will find what looks like a spare aerial socket it shout have a small button to press and a little light will illuminate when you have that on then do a search:thumb:
    Geo
     
  9. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,716
    Likes Received:
    38,612
    Location:
    Dorset
    Thanks "Geo"
    Yes there is a small white thingy where the aerial is plugged into and it has a green light,, on the same panel and just above the aerial is a,, what looks like a cigarette lighter socket, and in the manual it says not to connect high current devises such as hair dryers into this receptable, max of 8amps @ 12 volt.
     
  10. madbluemad

    madbluemad

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    spain
    I have one of these arials. The the thingy next to small white thingy is a 12V power socket mainly for tv sets. My telly will work ok with this arial on terrestial analogue. BBC1, 2. ITV, Channel 4 & 5 and S4C. Your 110 Volt sockets are ok for any 110 Volt appliance.

    When the digital change over happens I think the arial will be of no use. Does anybody know whether this arial will work from a digital signal if fed through a decoder. This is for when I have to wind down the maxview cranky when the wind gets up :Laughing:
    (for Jim):Wink:

    Cheers
    Jim:Smile:
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .

    Don't give up the day job Jim ........:Laughing::Laughing:

    I don't see why it won't work on a dodgy.. I mean digital signal .. but then again, I'm the only one complaining about a dodgy Maxview :cry: so I am probably wrong :Doh:

    Jim
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2008
  12. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,716
    Likes Received:
    38,612
    Location:
    Dorset
    Thanks for all the help and advise,, Little TV in bedroom works well and when connected to the aerial in the lounge it works ok,, but not the big telly,,The big telly in the lounge is plugged into a 110 socket, the big telly is one of these with the small black box (I think it is a transformer) so if that is ok I think it must be the area we live in.. the house aerial has a huge antenna and a booster box and if the weather is a bit iffy we get a bad picture.. satelite is fine..

    All the old plugs that were left in are 110 volt so will power small table lamps or any 110 appliances.. :thumb:

    Big Thankyou.
     
  13. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Suffolk
    our US aerial works great (on the 4 channels) in a good signal area, but where we are living the signal is too weak we have tried a few digital aerials on the freeview and have now got a sat. dish set up. We may still get a status for freeview, but the dish is working OK, for now.
    The amount of power you can run off the 110v depends on the size of the inverter fitted (240--110) your aircon/microwave/'fridge etc are all 110v.
    Looking forward to seeing the 5er.
    Nigel
     
Loading...

Share This Page