Tom Tom

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by slverdreamers, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. slverdreamers

    slverdreamers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    We have a Tom Tom one, brought for us by the kids a few years ago.
    Tried it out last week in North Wales, and it kept trying to take us down small B lanes.
    Tried it on Fastest and shortest route without much difference.
    We have 28ft motorhome towing a smart so don't want too many little lanes.
    We know the area of Wales and knew that the A road from Flint joined up to A55 with no problem.

    We are off to Holland on 15th April, and having kittens re the sat nav.
    Do we really need to invest in one in which we can programme our length, or just are we not programming Tom correctly.
    Comments would be great
    Regards Peter
     
  2. green machine

    green machine Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dover, Kent
    Hi Slverdreamers :Wink:

    If you download Tom Tom Home, you can connect your unit to the computer and then download points of interest for narrow roads and low bridge warning. You can then set your Tom Tom to give you plenty of warning before reaching these roads or bridges. http://www.tomtom.com/services/service.php?id=16&tab=87


    Hope this helps

    Green Machine
     
  3. MrJinks

    MrJinks Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Dorchester, Dorset
    Hi,

    Only advice for TomTom is never use it on "shortest" route with a motorhome as it will do as it says and compute the shortest distance for you regardless of road and vehicle.

    I don't normally have any problem when it is programmed on fastest route but always be willing to ignore it if it tells you to go down a road that looks unsuitable. It will always compute another route.

    Others have given good reports on this forum for the Snooper Ventura S7000
     
  4. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,503
    Likes Received:
    12,699
    Location:
    Norfolk
    If you can input waypoints you can influence the overall route. My Garmin will take me where IT thinks best but pop in a couple of via's ( waypoints ) and it adjusts the overall route to suit
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    only never had this problem once.....

    tomtom wanted my to turn through 170degs to the right, off a two lane rural A road into a single track B road, while going down a steep hill.

    physicaly impossibilty to turn in one go (probably 5 or 6 shunts) and on looking back, the lane was about 7ft from hedge to hedge.

    common sense should tell you to ignore and carry on....tomtom will re-route you, as it did for me, and saved me getting stuck in the lane.

    the detour was around 1.5miles and the original route would have saved maybe 1/2 mile.

    shortest route will calculate shortest distance regardless.
    quickest route will calculate average MPH...it doesnt take into account roads with a sensible limit of 10/20mph because all it knows is they are signed as 60mph.
     
  6. hogan

    hogan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valencia,Spain
    Or you could go here http://www.gpsunderground.com :wub:

    And download the truck map then you can put your M/H dimensions in then no problem.
    Just ask how to do it on that forum they are very helpful
     
  7. dave jm

    dave jm Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    york
    It must have got this bloke in trouble:Rofl1::Rofl1:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    probably polish....mainly truckers, but they cant seem to believe tomtom can be wrong:Rofl1:
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    nope.. he was just dandy :thumb:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. cliff

    cliff Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Peter,
    Know what you mean I don't think Tom Tom has not quite though it out, I had the same problem in France, eventually I just ingnored the thing and followed the main road and the map, the thing would reconfigured itself and re-route.

    There are now available GPS specically programable for large lorries, you can program in widths, height etc these units can be found on the internet.

    Cliff
     
Loading...

Share This Page