Skype, the new version.

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Douglas, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    South Wales,
    I have just down loaded the latest version of Skype (5.1.0.112) and there is now a facility to create a group contact. I have not tried it out yet as my link struggles with a single contact with two way video.

    Maybe some one with a good ADLS line can try it and report on it?

    Doug...
     
  2. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    not new doug been there for at least 12months
    if not longer.
    Maybe you mean group VIDEO, if so not tried it yet
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Well, is this not just typical of Skype ..

    After reading Doug's post I launched Skype and clicked on update..

    Bingo .. YES you can update to the latest version.. so I downloaded and installed .. then launched... and the message came up..

    Sorry, your architecture is not supported,...:Doh:

    yes, I still have an 'old' Mac with a PPC processor they no longer support.. so I had to go looking on the net for the old version and re install ..

    Thank you Skype for abandoning millions of PowerPC Mac users. :Angry:
     
  4. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    South Wales,
    What can I say Jim, I'm sorry to be the instrument of a problem.

    Doug...
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Not at all Doug.. not your fault mate

    The curtain is dropping on the PowerPC Mac, it's long in the tooth, software developers are not supporting it, Google's Chrome and Picassa are not supported, and even Apple has moved ahead leaving it largely unsupported.

    Safari ( the Apple browser) is bloated with binary code to enable it to run on both processors, as a result it's buggy and clunky .. so it's no surprise Skype has moved on.. just annoying they don't warn BEFORE downloading .
     
  6. 1_man_and_his_dob(lo)

    1_man_and_his_dob(lo) Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    1,516
    Location:
    Mid. Glamorgan, S. Wales
    Join the club..although in my case I think of it as a bonus that my 2002 G3 iMac is still chugging along (slowly) even if it isn't my main computer. I wanted to install Skype on it a few months ago, just for the messenger part, but it was obviously too much work for Skype for allow that and prevent the audio stuff from working due the computer not being fast enough - instead it installed but refused to run, and I had to find the cause in a log file :Angry:

    There's a project working on porting Firefox 4 to PPC, so I might squeeze a couple more years from the iMac yet. The next big problem is when the BBC update iPlayer to use a version of Flash that no longer runs on PPC :Sad:
     
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I had problems with Firefox, Safari and Camino, now using OmniWeb ... it has quite a number of neat features , my only dislike is the tabs sidebar rather than the conventional below the toolbar,.. but can live with it, otherwise it is fast and has a good pop up stopper. Worth a whirl if you haven't tried.
     
  8. H14KLY

    H14KLY Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    :Smile: yes just to let u know it does work fine vidio with 2 others at same time on windows 7 perfect pictur although you can only have window vidio not full screen window pnp
     
  9. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    South Wales,
    Jim, I just had a thought, I have an old desktop running Ubuntu and on that I run Skype, maybe you could do that with the mac.

    Doug...
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    yeah.. I have thought about it.. maybe give it a try sometime..

    Skype is now running on the old version .. so no desperation .

    cheers

    Jim
     
Loading...

Share This Page