sky set up

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by ehuplad, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. ehuplad

    ehuplad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Well i feel it is time to get sky tv set up in the RV, we currently have astra but not a big fan.

    What do we need to set up sky:Doh::Doh::Doh:
    Will the dish be ok and will it just be a new receiver, Where can you get a receiver without the hook up to phone line
     
  2. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    76,162
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Most people just take their regular Sky box with them when they travel, you don't need a phone with it. Or you could buy a receiver like the "Dreambox" which is supposed to be excellent, but I have no experience of it. Also there is now Freesat, so you might not need Sky at all.
     
  3. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
  4. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    France,

    just a receiver your dish will work ( you will most likely need a new LNB, single /twin /quad/ or a 8way octo depending how many tele's you want to run)(12v if running off battery they make a pace you can pick them up on ebay) or if running off mains just a normal receiver and don't worry about the phone line ....I run a pace 12v in the MH and 8 normal receivers at home from the mains ...you do not need to plug the phone line in
     
  5. ehuplad

    ehuplad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    We already have digi through the telly and arial, but when arial does not work would like sky,

    What about a card to run it can they only be got from sky
     
  6. lesleyjean

    lesleyjean Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Location:
    Devon
    Mine is a dreambox, very small, excellent bit of kit.

    Dreambox is able to read your skycard, so you get your sky package wherever you go.

    Just have to remember to take your sky card with you.

    Lesley
     
  7. Randonneur

    Randonneur Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Charente, Fr
    You are getting confused. If you have Digital through an aerial then you have what is called Terrestrial TV. Sky is also digital but is through a satellite dish. Therefore you will need to have a satellite dish fitted and any digital satellite receiver (not necessarily Sky). We have a Sky setup in the house but use a small satellite digital receiver in the motorhome, we bought this from Maplins and it runs on 12v or mains, if you go with this option then there is no subscription to pay for and you get over 200 channels to watch although a lot of them are rubbish, if you want to go the Sky route then you can either buy a secondhand/new Sky digibox or Dreambox and subscribe to Sky or get a £23 card for the Free to Air programs but these are the same as on the non sky box.
     
Loading...

Share This Page