sargent ec325

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by robnchris, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. robnchris

    robnchris Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Location:
    Chester
    Hi everyone and a Happy New Year to you all.

    We spent a couple of days up in Grassington, not the best of weather unfortunately but had a pleasant time despite the rain.

    Only bad thing our power went off this morning, did a reset at the supply post but instant trip again, oh dear seems we have a fault with our Sargent EC325.
    Tried another power cable which we knew was ok, with all 240v items switched off and same thing it tripped.

    Can anyone suggest ideas on what could have failed inside the Sargent unit.
    All the 12v circuits are working ok.
     
  2. Aldwick subs

    Aldwick subs Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ec325

    Happened to us in our Autotrail Apache last summer. If the trip switch stays in the off position and will not reset then the unit has failed and we had to have a replacement unit. Our dealer sends the unit back to makers for repair and then keeps as a spare. Good Luck
     
  3. FIDGET

    FIDGET Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    5,952
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Hi we had similar problem while in france in sept, caused by reversed polarity on french campsite, had to wait until we got back to blighty then contacted Sargent who talked me thru how to reset . Still not working as it originally did (ie led's on all the time power switched on, on the panel but everything works even when panel not illuminated. Terry
     
  4. maxsdad

    maxsdad Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    232
    Location:
    anglesey
    Met a chap on cc site in Bury the week before christmas came over talking to me since we both have Autotrail Frontiers.

    He said that when he arrived on site all the mains electrics failed he had to take in to local m/h dealer who found a screw had shorted out the wiring loom think the dealer could hve been Emm Bee might be worth giving them a ring after the hoilidays i always found them very helpfull with my last van.

    dave e
     
  5. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,326
    Likes Received:
    21,632
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    If you have a consumer unit in the van it may have more than one MCB's

    As a starting point turn trip any and all MCB's manually ( simply switch them off )

    Try the EHU cable and if the mains trip stays on you know the problem is past the consumer unit

    Unplug the EHU

    Switch one of the MCB's back on and connect the mains again

    If it trips out you know that the fault is on the circuit you have switched back in

    If still ok you now know that at least half of the mains circuit in the van is ok :thumb:

    If not, disconnect the EHU and reset the next MCB in the consumer unit and test again

    Once you have established what line the fault is it should not be too difficult to find where the fault lies..

    One of the most common problems is an earth leak in the fridge line..

    had that twice on folks vans over the past couple of years
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Tommy_harry

    Tommy_harry Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    County Durham
    We had a similar thing happened to us in France this year.... someone told us to switch it off then remove the front of the display unit, disconnect the display unit then put it all back together again.... it worked for us!

    des
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. robnchris

    robnchris Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Location:
    Chester
    sargent EC 325 PSU

    Hi folks, thank to those that offered assistance.

    I took front off unit and found the neutral wire out of the inlet socket/plug to the RCD had overheated melting the insulation through and shorted out against the earth wire, ugh not nice, has also melted the inlet plug so that is not usable.
    Will have to replace the orange power inlet cable and source a new plug and socket.
    Hopefully the RCD and Mcb`s protected the transformer, fingers crossed.
     
  8. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi Rob & Chris,if not I would look at replacing the whole unit with something different.Only my opp but there seems to be a lot of problems with the Sargent units,although customer service is good from them :thumb: the product seems prone to faults :Doh:
    terry
     
  9. robnchris

    robnchris Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Location:
    Chester
    Hi Terry, yes we have heard from more than one person that they have had problems with the Sargent PSU, have to be fair and say the unit is 3yrs old and that is the first time we have had any trouble with it.

    Haven`t fully tested it since finding out the the problem, hopefully nothing inside the unit has suffered, thinking of wiring the mains cable straight to the RCD, at least that will eliminate the one plug and socket.

    Have to say when we phoned Sargent re us having gel leisure batteries and the unit being set to lead acid for charging purposes they said it doesn`t matter, odd we thought why have the different settings in the unit, then again we have a lead acid engine battery so just left things as they were.

    Rob
     
Loading...

Share This Page