Re Plating

Discussion in 'Auto-Trail' started by pvw10, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Hi, new to this forum but not others (Ducatis).

    Thinking of getting my Apache down plated to 3500kgs so the kids can drive, payload will drop to circa 400kgs just wondered has anybody come over any issues doing this ?
    Thanks
    Paul
     
  2. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Any answers to this might save us a whole load of dosh as we are 4.02 ton and want a 3.5ton as Tez is going to be 70 in 3 years and we are worried about the medical required to drive our MH, I am younger but find it too big to drive so I would only drive it in extreme circumstances , saying that I have driven it in France as the roads are much better there.
     
  3. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    I have found the official firm who does it and the cost is only £100.00 plus vat, he has sent me the process and its all quite simple.
     
  4. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    SvTech will do it, just a paper exercise.:thumb:

    The only problem is the loss of payload, and the increased Road Tax of going to PLG from PHGV. This could be as much as £100 a year, how much the medical?
     
  5. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,544
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    You dont need to pay anyone to Down Rate just apply to your local DVLA they are more than happy to change registration document for you
    As already said it robs your payload
    Uprating is another matter entirley and you will need the services of Svtec
     
    • Like Like x 5
  6. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Looking again, could you cope with only 400kg payload.:Eeek: Less than half of what you have now. I would suggest looking for a smaller van at 3500 but with a larger payload.

    Speaking for myself, I weigh 100kg and a full water tank 120kg. With the Mrs and gas bottles the payload would be largely gone before you'd packed anything at all. ( Obviously you are probably a lot lighter but just as an illustration).

    SvTech mainly put the weights up, I have just had mine increased from 3880 to 4000, not a lot but every little bit helps.
     
  7. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    7,601
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    you may want to re check your maths on the unladen weight..
    the spec on a 2005 model unladen is 3180kg Plus if you have the se model with a 4 mtr awning thats another 40kg off the payload.. So your base vehicle could be 3220 before you start..
    3500 - 3220. gives you only 280 payload...
    Also remember any other items you have added will have to be deducted from the payload ie, extra or bigger batteries, sat dishes, solar panels, bike racks..

    I suggest go get on a weighbridge first and see what it all weighs now, you may get a shock...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Yes good shout that, mine so say is 3.8 so worth a weigh session just to check.
    SV Tech worth the cost if i proceed just for ease.
    They said tax will go down to PLG, from what though ?
     
  9. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    7,601
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    the cost of your road tax will Increase...
    Vehicles over 3500kg are classed as phgv. £165 a year...
    under 3500 costs more.. !!! Not sure on exact price but £210 ish maybe.. someone will know..
     
    • Like Like x 3
  10. motorhomer

    motorhomer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    I had mine downplated to 3500 from 3700, using svtec. Yes the tax is more (perversely) but the reasons for doing this is not just driving licence.

    In many countries speed limits are lower if over 3500kg, tolls are higher and in some countries (austria, switzerland and others) the procedure is different and more complicated. In some countries vehicles over 3500 are restricted as to which lanes they are allowed to drive in, and which roads they are allowed on. There are many miles of 2 lane motorway in Germany in which vehicles over 3500 are restricted to the inside lane with the lorries.

    All in all life is much simpler if you are under 3500 kg.

    But obviously you need to satisfy yourself that you can live with the reduced payload. Manufacturer's stated unladen weight is meant to INCLUDE 90% full (I think) fuel, water and 1 gas cylinder, and 75kg for the driver. So in theory you should not need to count the weight of water, or the driver, in your 400kg. But the only way to be sure is a weighbridge.

    We decided not go go for the 3ltr engine (saves 50kg) and not to have an awning (saves 35kg)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,962
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    and how can you tell the difference without examining the vin plate ?

    the physical appearance is no different to what it was and plod aint going to pull you over 'just in case' you are in the wrong lane or going a little too fast for the weight. :Doh:
     
    • Like Like x 3
  12. madbluemad

    madbluemad

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    spain
    Hi Geo.

    My V5C does not accurately reflect the weight information posted inside my mh. Basically this is a cock up by DVLA and as I see it all that I need to do is visit a local DVLA office, demonstrate the true weight of my mh and have them re-issue an ammended V5C.

    Why would I need the services of Svtec.

    Jim
    :Smile:
     
  13. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    having looked at this thread i am interested in uprating the train weight for my van so i can get a trailer instead of the a frame.
    is this the same procedure or a different one as i am not wanting to up the weight of the van just the amount i can tow with it.
     
  14. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I'm afraid you can't uprate the train weight, in the same way you can't uprate the axle weights (unless you change/modify the axles). If you uprate the MGW it must still be within the sum of the axle weights and if it comes close loading becomes critical if you are not going to exceed one of the axle weights.
     
  15. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    3,853
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    in fact it may be possible . but it depends on the axles . they should have a known weight sometimes stamped on the axles . some vehicles are down plated on registration in uk. the train weight may have got lowered as well . normally the train is left at the original max . do it all the time . always worth a visit to your local dvla center first as last . very often it can be just a paper exercise. the thing with using svtec is gareth up there is magic at knowing all the bits . wish i was as good as him.
    we need to know more details on axle, gvw, etc to give better info.
     
  16. estcres

    estcres Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    766
    Location:
    Sunny Bournemouth
    Don't know if this applies to you but, when we purchased our latest M/H, which was pre owned, DVLA had stated it was 3500Kg, but in fact it was really 3850Kg.

    When I enquired why this had happened I was told it was because it was up-rated when it was on Private Plates, when it was put back onto the original plates it was down-rated to it's original weight of 3500Kg.

    I contacted ALKO who sent me a new weight form and I did the neccessary with DVLA, it was also re-plated PHGV and therefore I now pay a lower road fund licence. Total cost £75 (to ALKO) for the weight certificate, was advised by ALKO that I could go up to 4000Kg if I wanted to as that is what the chassis is capable of.
     
  17. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    7,601
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    useful info.
    It wont help the original poster as the 700 does not have an Alko chassis.
    The thread does open up lots of information on the subject and there isn't a single answer.
    Pvw10 what year is your 700.?
     
  18. motorhomer

    motorhomer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    In answer to papajon I will not base decisions on "well it doesn't matter about breaking the law because I am unlikely to get caught", which appears to be his philosophy.

    There are speed and surveilance cameras in more and more places so I don't share his confidence anyway. These don't depend on visual inspection but on whats in the registration databases.
     
  19. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    3,853
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    hi. but it does depend on the vehicle . if its been down rated so could its trainweight . more info needed giving an answer is easy with all the right weights etc .
     
  20. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,544
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Me thinks so too:thumb:
    By vitue of it already having a higher rated plate I assume it has two plates?? original and up rated one
    SVtech's services are only needed when its a first time up rate,they will check vehicle specs and issue an up rated plate to suite, there services seem to be recognized by DVLA
    Any one doing a down rate jobby would be wise to remove the higher rated plate and keep it safe, Vosa will use the plate actually on the vehicle not the V5
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page