Propane Charging

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by bullrush, Sep 6, 2012.

1. bullrush

bullrush Read Only Funster

I expect this thread has been discussed before so being new to forums here goes :-
    I have been refilling my Propane bottles for a few years now in garages selling LPG but this practice is frowned upon and I just can not see why.
    When filling allways make sure you are using an empty bottle and go by the guide supplied ie 85% of bottle capasity. If you can change an empty bottle then you can recharge one in the garage.
    There charging adapters sell for about £45 on Ebay and after 4 refills you are in profit.
    This is especially handy when on the contenent (another adaptor required)
    when on a long stay during the cold weather but again the garage owners are not to happy so do it descreatly.

• Like Like x 4
  2. vwalan

vwalan Funster

keep your head down or wear a crash helmet . low flying remarks might go your way . snap . been doing it since 76.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Terry

Terry Funster

Should be 80 % :Wink: IE 3.9 kg bottle = 7.8 ltrs gas -6kgb = 12 ltrs gas etc,etc
    You also got robbed on price :BigGrin:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LPG-Propa...710?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item2321cb4406
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LPG-Propa...457?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item2321cb4309
    terry

• Like Like x 1
  4. vwalan

vwalan Funster

actually if you get a 13kg bottle thts after the 80% 6kg is after as well rule of thumb 6kg is 12 litres . put less if you want .
    just reaized thats what terry just said ./ i cant read properly . i must have been gassed as a child ha ha .

Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  5. johnp10

johnp10 Funster

Last summer I saw a brain dead pillock filling a gas cylinder (not gaslow) with a mickey mouse pigtail at a filling station whilst I was filling up.
    I informed him that not only are these cylinders not user refillable, but thefuel companys dont allow it on safety grounds.