phone tethering on 3

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Welsh girl, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    [HI]This is for buttons[/HI] really as he mentioned that he is doing this but thought someone else could answer this as well..
    I have decided to get a rolling contract on 3 for the sim card at £25 ( 2000 minutes/5000 texts, all you can eat data) on the one plan they call it, to allow tethering and we have taken it .
    We have 14 days to cancel.
    We already have a rolling contract with 3 for a sim card for £15.99 with a MI FI (Which we were going to cancel) and the sales consultants mentioned that the phone being tethered from would need almost constant charging and tried to get me to get a new MI FI that would be 40% faster than my original MI FI, [HI]question to buttons[/HI], is he telling the truth and would the phone run out of battery faster because it is tethered?
     
  2. Red Sonja

    Red Sonja Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    512
    Location:
    Near Dartford
    Probably. I use my Phone on 3 to tether to not only to my laptop but others have also connected to it as well. I normally keep it on charge whilst tethering.

    sonja
     
  3. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,224
    Likes Received:
    9,612
    Location:
    Dorset
    Tethering a phone causes it to draw more power than on standby, so tether it using a USB lead and it will charge at the same time. Otherwise if you tether wirelessly, put the phone on charge

    Yes the new model MiFi is faster than the old model and in most cases faster than the phone connection due to the different tech around HSDPA and GPRS, which are the different connection standards. A very modern 3.5g phone should be just as quick as the new MiFi though
     
  4. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,949
    Likes Received:
    10,722
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Hi t&t I have limited knowledge but I have a Samsung S2 from which I tether fairly regularly, I normally don't stay on line for more than an hour. Obviously the process does use some battery but I wouldn't say it requires mains connection. I have a car charger so top it up as required. There are some inexpensive additional external power sources on the market that will extend usage for as long as you require. See link....:thumb:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Trent-ifu...676?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item337724256c
    I did have a 3 dongle on contract for many years which worked great but dont have use for it now that I have the S2. With a rolling contract for a sim, you are able to give a months notice at any time if you are not happy with it. Hope this is some use.:thumb:
     
  5. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,949
    Likes Received:
    10,722
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Forgot to say, I have an all signing calls and unlimited data contract with 3, I think it costs around £35 a month this includes the S2 of course.
     
  6. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,949
    Likes Received:
    10,722
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    My old Dongle had HSDPA that was pretty quick but now tethering to my S2 wirelessly is at least as fast as the dongle and you can have a number of different units connected as you can with the MIFI.:thumb:
     
  7. chesterfield hooligan

    chesterfield hooligan Funster

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Stanton Hill
    :Smile: Hi I have a iphone 4s how do you tether a laptop :Smile:
     
  8. Red Sonja

    Red Sonja Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    512
    Location:
    Near Dartford
    Hi Chesterfield Hooligan.

    What you do is go to settings and then personal hotspot. Turn the personal Hotspot on. You should then see your iphone on the list of networks to connect to from the laptop. connect device entering password.

    I think you can connect up to 4 or 5 devices to your phone. Your phone will tell you how many devices are using it.

    Sonja
     
  9. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,867
    Likes Received:
    76,270
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    I have a couple of phones on Three and a MiFi Dongle also on Three. When it comes to data the Dongle always delivers much faster internet than the iPhone and Blackberry
     
  10. Rob e Lee

    Rob e Lee Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Surrey
    Iphone 4s

    Hi, I have an Iphone 4s. To set phone up for tethering you have to do the followng -

    Go to settings - Click on General - Click on Network - Click on Set Up Personal Hotspot.

    It will then give details as to how to enable. 02 do charge extra per month for doing it this way.

    A free alternative is to Jailbrake phone (really simple to do) and download an App called MyWi - and avoid paying extra monthly charge!

    Rob
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    The phone we will be using is HTC windows phone that shares internet, it will do it. £25 a month all you can eat data.so it's £10 A month more to tether.
    I am keeping my galaxy note on vodapbone as it gives us more choice on signal where we are moving around the country,I mostly use my mi fi for that phone as I only have 500 MB a month on that but for £2.50 a month on top gives me unlimited 085.0870 and 0800 numbers,I seem to call them a lot so have saved loads, saynoto0870 doesn't give me all the numbers I need.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page