Owl wireless electricity monitor.

Discussion in 'American RV's' started by johnpengers, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. johnpengers

    johnpengers Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Somerset.
    :Smile:We have just been sent a owl electricity monitor from uSwitch.com and I'm wondering if it could be or if it is compable to be fitted to our rv.It just seems a good idea when the hairdryer etc is plugged in just to keep an eye on what leccy we are using.
    If anyone out there has fitted one then I would be grateful for any advice,ie which wire to clamp it to etc.

    Regards. John P.
     
  2. john-A

    john-A Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    West Midlands
    I have not tried one on a an RV because I have not got one yet, :cry: but I fitted one at home and you need to clip it round one of the two main supply cables going to your fuse box red or black and it should start to give you a reading
     
  3. johnpengers

    johnpengers Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Somerset.
    Thanks John,The way you connected yours is as per instructions but on the rv I have the blue main hook up cable going into the consumer unit then an asortment of wires coming out the top,some heading into the transformer and back again and others disappearing into boxes.On the consumer unit I have the main on/off switch and two trip switches,one labelled transformer and the other 240 volt sockets.There is obviously a feed that heads off to the main internal fuse box located below the control panel.I wish I'd served my time as a spark instead of a plumber !

    Regards, John P.
     
  4. zaskar

    zaskar Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    UK
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi John
    I fitted mine inside the RV consumer unit but it was a tight squeeze

    Alternatively, you could fit it to the EHU cable just before it enters the consumer unit.
    Carefully slit the sheath and fish out either red or black core and put the clamp around it


    I found it one of the most useful accessories, no more trips and having to call out the warden at dark o'clock .. also useful to monitor when your on metered leccy

    For a 16A supply, set the alarm at 3.6kw ..
     
  6. johnpengers

    johnpengers Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Somerset.
    Hi Jim,I've just read through the instructions regarding the alarm,the one I've got must be a cheap one cos no mention of an alarm.not to worry it was free anyway so when installed I'll just keep my eye on it especially when the hairdryers etc come out.

    Many thanks, John P. :thumb:
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,955
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    the owl doesnt show amps, only kilowatts/watts but a simple convertion will sort that out.

    divide watts by 230 and that will give the amps:thumb:

    ie: 3680w / 230v = 16amps
     
  8. johnpengers

    johnpengers Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Somerset.
    Just fitted the owl and you are all correct,what a great bit of kit.
    Now,when Jim said you can set the alarm to whatever you want then this got me thinking,My wife is always on at me regarding stuff she buys ending up in the rv,she wanted this owl to be fitted to the house to monitor our leccy bill.I will inform her that she is right and we need another owl at which I will buy the one with the alarm and swap them over.Ingenious or what ! Now which make and model is fitted with the alarm device please ?

    John P.:thumb:
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Glad you like it .. here is the kiddy you want at a good price
    http://www.theowl.com/shop/index.php?target=products&product_id=6
     
  10. johnpengers

    johnpengers Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Somerset.
    Thanks Jim.Going to order on line now before wifey comes in from work then I can tell her what a great favour I've done her lol !

    Regards,John P.
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,955
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    no model number on my owl but it has a part number CM119 on the back at the very top above 'made in china'

    it has the alarm mode.

    off white in colour, about 4" X 5" X 1"
    takes 3 AA cells
    three buttons at the bottom...'mode' 'adjust' and 'set'

    if this doesnt help i'll photo it and post a pic.
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,955
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  13. johnpengers

    johnpengers Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Somerset.
    Yep thats the one and I got a fiver discount,I ordered it from owl earlier tonight,
    certainly takes the guess work out of what to plug in and what not to,
    Thanks fella's for all the advice.

    John P.:thumb:
     
  14. johnpengers

    johnpengers Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Somerset.
    Evening all,My owl turned up today and very pleased with it.This question is gonna get me ripped to shreds cos I can't find the solution and I'm sure I'm being stupid !
    How the hell do you set the alarm at 3.6kw,I can only set the thing to go off when I enter a sum of money ie to go off when say I've used a tenners worth of leccy.
    It is the same model as Jims and Papajohns,part no cm119.
    What am I missing ???????

    Many thanks, John P.:Eeek:
     
  15. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,955
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    be interesting to see jims reply to this.....i cant set mine on anything other than cost either:Doh:
     
  16. johnpengers

    johnpengers Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Somerset.
    Thanks Papajohn,you just made me feel a whole lot better !
    Just a thought while I'm waiting for my tea,Is there a way of working out how much 3.6kw would cost then set it that way or is that another daft question ?
    Clutching at straws now.

    John P.
    :Eeek:
     
  17. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,955
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    you couldnt really do it that way for the van as campsites dont charge by the unit....usually fixed price whether you use it all or not.:Angry:
     
  18. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,450
    Likes Received:
    25,133
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Not really, if you don't plug it in it won't tell you.

    Or you could just read the label.
     
  19. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi

    You are correct, the alarm is on the cost of the leccy being used

    .. so , for easy calculations,


    set the tarriff at 10p per kw unit ..

    then set the alarm for .... 36p which = 3.6kw.

    using the equation Watts/Volts = Amps

    gives you the alarm at 15.6 Amps
     
  20. johnpengers

    johnpengers Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Somerset.
    Thanks Papajohn,It will be interesting what Jim says ,hopefully he'll be along in a minute.
    My apologies to Brian,obviously I meant to say,if the owl is showing 3.5kw and you're on 16 amp hook up you would nt be daft enough to plug anything else in or you will blow the fuse.It just takes the guesswork away.

    Regards,John P.:Smile:
     

Share This Page