Next Question

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by pappajohn, Jun 22, 2008.

  1. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    can anyone tell me why my wireless connection keeps dropping.
    i thought i mighjt be out of range but shirls lappy works fine (same wireless card installed) in the time it taken to write this its dropped 3 times.

    drops then within a couple of seconds it reconnects then drops and reconnects again, well baffled.
     
  2. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    It sounds like your dialer is trying to dial out on a non existant phone line:Eeek:
    Go to control panel, then internet options. look for the tab "connection" if there is anything in the box delete it (it should be blank) not even aol,com).:Eeek:this is for telephone line so should be empty.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2008
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    deleted everything and it still drops :Angry:
     
  4. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    every thing? should only be one possibly aol. It was connection you went to and not general?
    Another thought , have you had the filters out and maybe put them back in wrong order?

    Alternatively, switch off put kettle on make a brew then come back switch on and log onto aol and see what happens.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2008
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Uhh..?????

    sorry....foriegn language..:Doh:

    i had the dialer number(BBDialer) in there for my dongle. deleted that as well:Doh:

    tried the kettle but that doesnt do anything either.:Angry:

    this is really annoying as i have to preview each post i write then copy it so i ndont lose it whan the connection fails. :Angry:just paste it into a new post.
     
  6. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    The Filters are the little boxes that you plug into every phone outlet then plug the phone into .:Rofl1:
     
  7. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,068
    Likes Received:
    13,673
    Location:
    Heavan
    its not configured right John. is it droppping after the same amount of time?
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    yes more or less
     
  9. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,236
    Likes Received:
    34,446
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Possibly a daft question John but are your machine and Shirl's connecting from the same room? Wireless signals can be disrupted by materials in walls/floors between the hub and the computer.

    What I would do is check that the settings on both machines are the same and try connecting with the two machines side by side. If there is still a problem then the wireless card may well be faulty.

    Graham
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    cheers graham,

    i had thought of that but never got round to doing it.

    i checked setting with my pc and they match but thats connected through a wireless dongle. dont know if that makes a difference.

    i'll try as you sugested tonight.:thumb:

    hope its not the card, sounds expensive.:Angry:

    i'v taken my lappy to work in the hope of finding an unsecured network to see if it works on another network or if its my router at fault but as usual you cant find a network when you need one.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2008
  11. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,236
    Likes Received:
    34,446
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    If the PC is connecting to the Internet direct through a mobile phone dongle and the laptop is connecting through a wireless home network linked to a landline Broadband service then there will be differences in the settings.

    Graham
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    hib graham,

    when i say a dongle i mean a usb wireless device not a t mobile/orange ect internet dongle.

    the pc is connected via the wireless network as is my lappy but only mine drops...

    checked on another wireless network and it seems to hold the connection ok. naughty i know but i dont know who's it was....just an unencrypted network in town.

    shirl's (this lappy) works ok but she's on vista where-as im on XP so the setup pages are different so i cant cross reference.

    daughters just connected ok on her lappy.:Angry::Angry::Angry::Angry::Angry::Angry:
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    yeeesssssss

    dont know why i didnt do it earlier when i realised there was a problem. :Doh::Doh:

    reinstall the wireless card drivers. :thumb:

    job done, one happy bunny again.:BigGrin::BigGrin:

    just got to sort AOL now:Angry:
     
  14. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,236
    Likes Received:
    34,446
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Nice one John, sorry I misinterpreted the dongle bit.

    Best way to sort AOL is to dump it - so long as you are connected do you actually need access to anything AOL offers?

    Graham
     
  15. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    personally i dont use it except for email.
    shirl has all her suppliers web addresses on there as favorites and she wont write 'em down on paper so could be a long, drawn out job changing ISP. she's also concerned about her email addresses if we change as she has 3 accounts for different things.

    i feel we are getting a bargain with just the free (£8 extra) unlimited phonecalls (local + national 24/7) as our normal BT bill was always around £150 per month but i know other ISPs do similar deals so have to look into it.

    hey....been on 37 mins now and no drops.
     
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i dont f*****g believe it. the bloody things doing it again. :cry::cry::cry:

    looks like a grown up will have to have a look.:Angry::Angry:
     
  17. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,236
    Likes Received:
    34,446
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Have you installed anything else in the meantime (including on-line updates) or had any crashes? If so that could have affected the drivers.

    Graham
     
  18. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    got it in the repair shop.

    infected with 187 viruses. :Eek!::Eek!:

    he said it probably is a virus attacking the wi-fi software buy until he gets rid of them he wont know for sure just what was causing it to play silly b****rs

    my virus protection obviously aint up to the job.:Angry:

    i have the latest version of AVG installed but it looks like it aint enough.

    hopefully when he's cleared everything it will run a lot faster too.

    any suggestions as to which FREE virus software to use.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2008
  19. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,236
    Likes Received:
    34,446
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    We use AVG8 anti-virus and Windows Defender but behind a hardware firewall and with Zone Alarm (XP machines) or Windows Firewall (Vista machine) software firewalls. No problems for years.

    Sometimes viruses can get you as a result things like changing of suppliers. A friend, a few years ago, got a similar number of viruses as you after signing up for a broadband package and connecting before installing AV or firewall software.

    Graham
     
  20. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    got it back from the repair shop today.

    viruses deleted, every possible update known to man, service pack 3 installed.

    all unnessecery files deleted, regestry cleaned.

    RAM upgraded to 1 gig from 512 meg.

    got home and connected to the modem and guess what............it dropped again. :cry:

    rang the guy and told him and he said he had it connected for 5 hours today no trouble. bring it back and we'll install a new card.

    then he rang back and asked what router i had.....NETGEAR DG834GT.

    oh.....they have pi** poor range....and you could be on the limit.

    sure enough, moved closer and it works fine. :thumb:i also increased the transmitter power a bit and it works where it normally does now.:thumb:

    going to move the router to a better location so all the computers work.

    still , it was £74 well spent as it's a lot faster.:BigGrin:

    turns out the guy subscribes to the other MHF so we had a bit of a natter about motorhomes at the same time.:thumb:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Glandwr
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    233

Share This Page